Login

Für den Besuch des Konzerts »LIMBO« benötigen Sie ein Ticket.
Bitte tragen Sie Ihren 8-stelligen Login-Code im untenstehenden Feld ein und bestätigen diesen mit einem Klick auf »Anmelden«.

 

To attend the concert »LIMBO« you need a ticket.
Please enter your 8-digit login code in the field below and confirm it by clicking on »Anmelden«.

Den Login-Code finden Sie auf Ihrem Ticket unterhalb des Barcodes (darüber steht »LOGIN-CODE«).

 

You will find the login code on your ticket below the barcode (it says »LOGIN-CODE« above it).

Anmelden

Ton

Mit einem Klick auf untenstehende Schaltfläche wird der Ton aktiviert. Während des Konzerts können Sie den Ton jederzeit über die Schaltfläche links unten deaktivieren oder wieder aktivieren.

 

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, das Konzert mit Kopfhörern anzuhören!

 

Click on the button below to activate the sound. During the concert you can deactivate or reactivate the sound at any time by clicking on the button at the bottom left.

 

We recommend that you listen to the concert with headphones!

Ton aktivieren
Werkinformation

Agata Zubel: 3 Songs

Agata Zubel: 3 Songs

No words. Wrong way. It shouldn’t be so.
Agata Zubel

Biografie

Agata Zubel

Agata Zubel

Composer and singer Agata Zubel (*1978 in Wrocław) is known for her unique vocal range and mastery of challenging vocal techniques. She performs worldwide and collaborates with leading ensembles such as Los Angeles Philharmonic, Seattle Symphony, Niedersächsisches Staatsorchester Hannover, Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Ensemble Intercontemporain, London Sinfonietta, Ictus, Eighth Blackbird, Seattle Chamber Players, San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, Münchener Kammerorchester, Neue Vocalsolisten and Remix Ensemble. Agata Zubel has received important awards: the »Passport« prize of the weekly classical music magazine »Polityka« (2005), the »Fryderyk« prize for her CD Cascando (2010), the Vocal Recital Apparition (2020), the »Polonica Nova« prize (2014), the Coryphaeus of Polish Music (2016), the European Composer Award (2018), the Erste Bank Composition Prize (2018), the »Badge of Merit to Polish Culture« and the »Gloria Artis« medal. She lives in Wrocław, where she teaches at the Academy of Music. Together with composer and pianist Cezary Duchnowski she founded the ElettroVoce Duo. www.zubel.pl

Werkinformation

Alla Zagaykevich: Signs of Presence

Alla Zagaykevich: Signs of Presence

In 2018, a book by the famous Ukrainian poetess Iya Kiva entitled ” A Little Further from Heaven ” was published in Kyiv. And the title of the preface was: »Notes about the concept of Limbo«. Yes, from the summer of 2014from the time of escape from occupied Donetskfor this poetess began her own Limbo. How it began in some time, say, for Paul Celan.

The way of reading »signs of presence«passes through the sound.

Remembering forgotten melodies of lullabies, some children’s songs, or old cries… Approaching the instrumentwe listen to the world around us, cling to its vines, its trees… we listen to all its signs, we recognize ourselves in it.

(I am writing this annotation in Kyiv on December 31, 2021. In the morning in the newspaper I again saw the announcement on the collection of troops of Russia to the borders of Ukraine… And it’s part of my »signs of presence«).
Alla Zagaykevych

Biografie

Alla Zagaykevich

Alla Zagaykevich

Alla Zagaykevych (*1966) is a Ukrainian composer, performance artist, curator of electroacoustic music projects and musicologist. She graduated from the Kyiv National Music Academy of Ukraine and attended the annual course in composition and music informatics at IRCAM (Paris) in 1995/96. Since 1997 she has been a lecturer at the Composition Department of the Kyiv National Music Academy of Ukraine, where she founded the Studio of Electronic Music (supported by the International Renaissance Foundation).

 

Her work includes symphonic, instrumental and vocal chamber music, electroacoustic compositions, multimedia installations and performances, operas and film music. Since 2003 she has been the Artistic Director of International Projects Electroacoustics Kiev, and since 2010 the President of the Electroacoustic Music Association of Ukraine. In 2017 she curated the music program of the Book Arsenal Festival, in 2018-2020 the Envision Sound program of the British Council and the Dovzhenko Centre, in 2019 she was a mentor of the international master class of acousmatic and electroacoustic music »Sound around me« in Vienna. Alla Zagaykevych wrote numerous musicological articles. In 2017, she received the Golden Dzyga of the Ukrainian Film Academy as the best composer.

http://cargocollective.com/mediartists/filter/Ukraine/Alla-Zagaykevych

Werkinformation

Ying Wang: Illuminations. 3 Songs

Ying Wang: Illuminations. 3 Songs

Iluminations here stands for the desire to illuminate what is deliberately forgotten or ignored; what is kept »in limbo« in an undefined place; what makes someone a social and political orphan. Illuminations’ songs take on such orphans. They are based on their own statements and are part protocol, part energetic speech. The songs demonstrate: They are voiced many times through tapes, loudly through megaphones, and shared and documented internationally through smartphones. The three Illuminations songs do not seek out subtle shadow areas of expression, but turn piano keys into chanting trombones and electric guitars. The music for these comes from the tradition of the political protest song and the rock song. Illuminations is also the title of a volume of essays by Walter Benjamin, which served as a latent source of inspiration.
Yin Wang

Biografie

Ying Wang

Ying Wang

In her compositions, Ying Wang (1976 in Shanghai) deals with topics such as environmental pollution, global social ills, political persecution, or man’s relationship to technology. In her work, she constantly seeks new interfaces with other media and arts such as dance, video, digital art, light, visual art and performance.
Ying Wang came from Shanghai in 2003, first to Cologne and finally to Berlin. She has collaborated with numerous orchestras and ensembles in Europe as well as Asia. In 2013, she was awarded the Giga-Hertz Prize Production Award and the Composer Award of the 5th Brandenburg Biennale. In addition to the IEMA scholarship in 2009/10, she received further scholarships from the Experimental Studio of the SWR, the Federal Ministry of Vienna and, at the suggestion of Peter Eötvös, from the Herrenhaus Edenkoben. In 2014 she won the 35th Irino prize for chamber orchestra in Tokyo. In 2015 the Deutschlandfunk invited her as »composer in residence« to the festival »Forum Neuer Musik« in Cologne. In 2017 she received the Heidelberg Künstlerinnenpreis. In 2020, she was a fellow of the German Academy in Rome.
Ying WANG completed her composition studies with York Höller, Rebecca Saunders and Johannes Schöllhorn at the HfMT Cologne. She studied electronic composition with Michael Beil. In 2010, she completed the master’s program in contemporary music at the Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts on a scholarship from the International Ensemble Modern Academy (IEMA). In 2012 she participated in the Cursus de Composition et d’informatique musicale/Ircam Paris.

Werkinformation

Sven Ingo Koch: Simple Songs & Lieder des Verzehrens

Sven Ingo Koch: Simple Songs & Lieder des Verzehrens

1 mulberries
2 fennel
3 marten
4 bird grave song
5 match

To write songs, to compose vocal music, has been my desire for many years. However, I did not want to rely on those procedures and forms of expression that are otherwise important to me in my melodic work: I ruled out a »heterochronicity« of simultaneous levels and melodic lines composed in eighth tones with a view to the instrumentation at the beginning of the working process. In this restriction lay at the same time the attraction to move in the direction of »song« in some songs.

Heterogeneity arises in this small cycle through the juxtaposition of contrasting songs, or rather songs that mutually perspectivize each other in their difference. The formal arrangement of the songs follows the intensity of the sung forms of consumption: from the yearning eating of mulberries and fennel to the bloodlust of the marten »uncorking« the pigeons, to the birds feasting on human bodies, to the metaphorical match burning itself (and its time).
Simple Songs & Songs of Consumption are dedicated to Viktoriia Vitrenko.
Sven-Ingo Koch

Biografie

Sven Ingo Koch

Sven Ingo Koch

Sven-Ingo Koch (*1974 in Hagen) studied composition, computer composition, piano performance and musicology at the Folkwang-Hochschule Essen, at the University of California San Diego and at Stanford, among others with Nicolaus Huber, Roger Reynolds and Brian Ferneyhough. Deeply influenced by the stay in California (1999-2003) resulting from these studies, made possible by scholarships from the DAAD and Stanford University, Sven-Ingo Koch now lives back in Germany, unspeakably missing the vastness of California’s beaches and deserts. Long stays in Rome (Villa Massimo) and Istanbul also had a formative effect. Influenced by the experiences of his years of travel, Sven-Ingo Koch is on the one hand interested in a close connection, also overcoming of opposites, but on the other hand is no less fascinated by the simultaneity of overlapping temporal levels: »heterochronies«, in which, with simultaneous reduction of the material, different levels are not subject to a central perspective. Interacting with this is the questioning of the interaction of the instruments and the exploration of their relationship in the area of tension between radical independence and mutual conditionality.  This also inspires the search for a melodicism in which microtonally melodicmelodic also means: rememberablelines unfold independently of one another.

www.sven-ingo-koch.de

Werkinformation

Maxim Shalygin: Lieder der Heilgen Narren. song cycle

Maxim Shalygin: Lieder der Heilgen Narren. song cycle

I wrote this cycle when I moved to the Netherlands, as a kind of farewell statement to my past self. I wanted people to be able to play it on the piano and sing it at the same time.
Parts:
1. ‘Сhimes’ (original text)
2. ‘More tender than the tenderness itself’ (on lyrics by Osip Mandelstam, fragment)
3. ‘Invocations’ (original text, dedicated to Anna Reshetniak)
4. ‘Lullaby’ (original text, dedicated to Vincent van Gogh)
5. ‘Lebyadkina’s song’ (on lyrics by Fyodor Dostoevsky)
6. ‘Nursery rhyme’ (original text, dedicated to Jim Jarmusch)
7. ‘Agnus Dei’ (dedicated to Svyatoslav Lunyov)
Maxim Shalygin

Biografie

Maxim Shalygin

Maxim Shalygin

The compositions of Maxim Shalygin (*1985 in Kamianske, Ukraine) include chamber, vocal, symphonic, and electroacoustic music, as well as music for theater, ballet, and film. The composer expands the traditional palette of playing techniques, resorting less to »extended techniques« than to unfolding the sounds of the instruments in all their congenial sonority. He wants to »combine a wide range of techniques with a psychological insight and a spirituality. No academic formulas hence, nor avant-garde radicalisms, but rather a self-conceived scale of playing techniques in its own right that never severs the ties with sonority, and thus allows for maintaining a thoroughly tonal language.«

Maxim Shalygin began studying composition with Irina Ivashenko at the age of 16. In 2004, he trained for one year with Boris Tishchenko at the N. Rimsky-Korsakov State Conservatory in St. Petersburg (RU). He received his first master’s degree in 2010 from the National Academy of Music in Kiev (UA). In 2011, he received his second master’s degree from the Royal Conservatory in The Hague (NL), where he studied with Cornelis de Bondt and Diderik Wagenaar. He currently lives and works in the Netherlands. Shalygin has been composer-in-residence at Izolyatsia [UA], Storioni Festival [NL] and Soundsofmusic Festival (NL). His works are performed at music festivals worldwide.

Biografie

Viktoriia Vitrenko

Viktoriia Vitrenko

Singer and conductor Viktoriia Vitrenko (*1990 in Ukraine) graduated in 2012 in conducting at the National Academy of Music of Ukraine with Viktor Petrychenko. In 2015, she completed her bachelor’s degree in choral conducting with Denis Rouger at the State University of Music and Performing Arts in Stuttgart. From 2014, she studied with Angelika Luz and Georg Nigl in the master’s program in new music/vocal performance.
Since then, the versatile musician has been active both as a conductoramong others of the Pforzheim Chamber Orchestra, Concerto Tübingen, Stuttgart Philharmonic, Divertimento Ensemble and Landesjugendensemble Neue Musik Baden-Württembergand as a singer with performances in music theater and contemporary projects in numerous European countries.
Her debut CD »Scenes« (2019, AUDITE) with chamber music by György Kurtág won the Supersonic Pizzicato and was nominated for the Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik (PdSK-2019) and International Contemporary Music Awards 2020 (ICMA 2020).
Cultural and social exchange is a central concern for Viktoriia Vitrenko. She sees herself as a mediator for Ukrainian culture and actively promotes dialogue. In 2017, together with Maria Kalesnikava and Jasmin Schädler, she founded InterAkt, a cross-disciplinary initiative focusing on socio-political and technological issues.

Biografie

Titus Selge

Titus Selge

After graduating from high school, Titus Selge (*1966 in Münster) interned and assisted at the Württembergisches Staatstheater Stuttgart from 1985 to 1988 and then had a permanent engagement at the Theater Basel (directorial debut with »Le schmürz« by Boris Vian). From 1991 he worked at various theaters in Germany as a director, scriptwriter and actor. From 1994 to 1999 he graduated from the Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in Ludwigsburg, where, after short films (including »Zita«, 1996), he also made his graduation film (»Altöl und Champagner«, 1999).
Titus Selge works as a director and screenwriter for film and television (Tatort, Polizeiruf 110, etc.) and as a musical theater director (including »Geschichte« by Oscar Strasnoy with the Neue Vocalsolisten, 2010). For his film »Unterwerfung« (2018) with actor Edgar Selge, he received the Romy Academy Award for the best TV film of the year in 2019.

19 LIMBO
background

LimboViktoriia Vitrenko

Limbo Viktoriia Vitrenko

(Edited by Sven-Ingo Koch)

 

Dedicated to Maria Kalesnikava

 

How are you?

 

A simple question to which one cannot give a simple answer. A question to which one does not want to hear an answer. Aquestion to which I have not had an answer for over six months.

 

I read the news of the »superstar of the year«, the corona virus, of perpetual lockdowns driving me to despair, of theburst democracy bomb in Belarus, and spin in political debates with those vultures who want to profit from world unrest. In the vain search for an answer. I feel torn and wonder what words, what music could be used to describe thisstate of affairs.

 

At the same time, the ongoing development of the current pandemic forces me to listen to my innermost thoughts and to confront myself.

 

And what do I find there? On the one hand, it is an unbelievable calmso calm that it borders on breathlesson the other hand, a screaming longing for life and vitality. Yet I sense that it is precisely in this borderline state that new processes are born. Belarus. What courageous people! Where do they find their strength to remain strong in the face of a brutal regime? And my good friend? In the midst of all this, imprisoned for six months now. Alone, imprisoned, yetnot broken.

 

How are you?

 

I have a great urge to shout, but I’m not allowed tonew curfews have just been imposed, and my neighbours always bang on the wall when I play music. And so I crawl back to my electric piano, put on the headphones and try to feel my way in. Chopin doesn’t worktoo romantic, Rachmaninofftoo pompous, Bachalready so many dead since thebeginning of the pandemic.


I’m looking for something simple, only a few chords (can new music do that at all?) and the voice floats unintentionally right along with it. But I hum softly so that no one hears memy desolation is currently one of the whole culture.

 

On the other hand, I feel like a singer-songwriter, a cabaret artist oreven betterlike a queen who has the stage to herself. What a pity that there is no one here to watch me do it. It’s quite virtuoso to play and sing at the same time. Even ifor precisely becauseit is so »simple«, it comes from the complexity of New Music. I look inside myself, into a place between liveliness somewhere out there and fear of death in here, into a mysterious placea limbo.

 

How are you?

 

And I try to understand this limbo. There it isa point where I no longer feel one or the other. Rather, I feel both at thesame time. Alive and dead. And at this moment I have the feeling of being Schrödinger’s cat, which may not be alive and yet is alive. As an observer, however, I cannot understand in which of these states I am at the moment. Locked up in this »in-between world«, the idea for a new project emerges.

Login

Für den Besuch des Konzerts »LIMBO« benötigen Sie ein Ticket.
Bitte tragen Sie Ihren 8-stelligen Login-Code im untenstehenden Feld ein und bestätigen diesen mit einem Klick auf »Anmelden«.

 

To attend the concert »LIMBO« you need a ticket.
Please enter your 8-digit login code in the field below and confirm it by clicking on »Anmelden«.

Den Login-Code finden Sie auf Ihrem Ticket unterhalb des Barcodes (darüber steht »LOGIN-CODE«).

 

You will find the login code on your ticket below the barcode (it says »LOGIN-CODE« above it).

Anmelden

Ton

Mit einem Klick auf untenstehende Schaltfläche wird der Ton aktiviert. Während des Konzerts können Sie den Ton jederzeit über die Schaltfläche links unten deaktivieren oder wieder aktivieren.

 

Wir empfehlen Ihnen, das Konzert mit Kopfhörern anzuhören!

 

Click on the button below to activate the sound. During the concert you can deactivate or reactivate the sound at any time by clicking on the button at the bottom left.

 

We recommend that you listen to the concert with headphones!

Ton aktivieren
Werkinformation

Agata Zubel: 3 Songs

Agata Zubel: 3 Songs

Ohne Worte. Falsche Richtung. Es sollte nicht so sein.
Agata Zubel

Biografie

Agata Zubel

Agata Zubel

Die Komponistin und Sängerin Agata Zubel (*1978 in Wrocław) ist bekannt für ihren einzigartigen Stimmumfang und die Beherrschung herausfordernder Stimmtechniken. Sie konzertiert weltweit und arbeitet mit führenden Ensembles wie Los Angeles Philharmonic, Seattle Symphony, Niedersächsisches Staatsorchester Hannover, Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Ensemble Intercontemporain, London Sinfonietta, Ictus, Eighth Blackbird, Seattle Chamber Players, San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, Münchener Kammerorchester, Neue Vocalsolisten und Remix Ensemble zusammen. Agata Zubel erhielt wichtige Auszeichnungen wie den »Passport«-Preis der Wochenzeitschrift »Polityka« für klassische Musik (2005), den »Fryderyk«-Preis für ihre CD Cascando (2010), die Vocal Recital Apparition (2020), den Preis »Polonica Nova« (2014), den Coryphaeus of Polish Music (2016), den European Composer Award (2018), den Erste Bank Kompositionspreis (2018), das »Badge of Merit to Polish Culture« sowie die Medaille »Gloria Artis«. Sie lebt in Wrocław, wo sie an der Hochschule für Musik unterrichtet. Zusammen mit dem Komponisten und Pianisten Cezary Duchnowski gründete sie das ElettroVoce Duo. www.zubel.pl

Werkinformation

Alla Zagaykevich: Signs of Presence

Alla Zagaykevich: Signs of Presence

2018 erschien in Kiew ein Buch der berühmten ukrainischen Dichterin Iya Kiva mit dem Titel »Ein Stück weiter vom Himmel«. Und der Titel des Vorworts lautete: »Notizen über das Konzept der Vorhölle«. Ja, seit dem Sommer 2014seit der Flucht aus dem besetzten Donezkbegann für diese Dichterin ihr eigener Limbus. Wie es etwa bei Paul Celan begann.

Die Art und Weise, »Zeichen der Gegenwart« zu lesengeht durch den Klang.

Wir erinnern uns an vergessene Melodien von Wiegenliedern, Kinderliedern oder alten Schreien… Wir nähern uns dem Instrumentwir lauschen der Welt um uns herum, klammern uns an ihre Reben, ihre Bäume… wir lauschen auf all ihre Zeichen, wir erkennen uns selbst darin.

(Ich schreibe diesen Werkkommentar am 31. Dezember 2021 in Kiew. Am Morgen sah ich in der Zeitung wieder die Ankündigung über die Sammlung von Truppen Russlands an den Grenzen der Ukraine… Und das ist ein Teil meiner »Zeichen der Gegenwart«)
Alla Zagaykevych

Biografie

Alla Zagaykevich

Alla Zagaykevich

Alla Zagaykevych (*1966) ist ukrainische Komponistin, Performance-Künstlerin, Kuratorin elektroakustischer Musikprojekte und Musikwissenschaftlerin. Sie studierte an der Nationalen Musikakademie der Ukraine in Kiew und besuchte 1995/96 den Jahreskurs für Komposition und Musikinformatik am IRCAM (Paris). Seit 1997 ist sie Dozentin an der Kompositionsabteilung der Nationalen Musikakademie der Ukraine in Kiew, wo sie das Studio für elektronische Musik gründete (unterstützt von der International Renaissance Foundation).

 

Ihr Werk umfasst symphonische, instrumentale und vokale Kammermusik, elektroakustische Kompositionen, multimediale Installationen und Performances, Opern und Filmmusik. Seit 2003 ist sie Künstlerische Leiterin der internationalen Projekte Electroacoustics Kiew, seit 2010 die Präsidentin der Vereinigung für elektroakustische Musik der Ukraine. 2017 kuratierte sie das Musikprogramm des Book Arsenal Festivals, 2018 bis 2020 das Envision Sound Programm des British Council und des Dovzhenko Centre, 2019 war sie Mentorin der internationalen Meisterklasse für akusmatische und elektroakustische Musik »Sound around me« in Wien. Alla Zagaykevych verfasste zahlreiche musikwissenschaftliche Artikel. Als beste Komponistin erhielt sie 2017 die Goldene Dzyga der Ukrainischen Filmakademie.

http://cargocollective.com/mediartists/filter/Ukraine/Alla-Zagaykevych

Werkinformation

Ying Wang: Illuminations. 3 Songs

Ying Wang: Illuminations. 3 Songs

Iluminations steht hier für den Wunsch zu erleuchten, was bewusst vergessen oder ignoriert wird; was in einem unbestimmten Ort »in Limbo« gehalten wird; was jemanden zum gesellschaftlichen und politischen Waisen macht. Die Lieder von Illuminations nehmen sich solcher Waisen an. Sie basieren auf deren eigenen Aussagen und sind teils Protokoll, teils energische Rede. Die Lieder demonstrieren: Sie werden durch Tonbänder vielstimmig, durch Megaphone laut, durch Smartphones international geteilt und dokumentiert. Die drei Illuminations-Songs suchen keine subtilen Schattenbereiche des Ausdrucks auf, sondern machen die Klaviertasten zu skandierenden Posaunen und E-Gitarren. Die Musik dazu entstammt der Tradition des politischen Protestliedes und des Rock-Songs. Illuminationen ist auch der Titel eines Essay Bandes von Walter Benjamin, der als latente Inspirationsquelle diente.
Yin Wang

Biografie

Ying Wang

Ying Wang

In ihren Kompositionen beschäftigt sich Ying Wang (1976 in Shanghai) mit Themen wie Umweltverschmutzung, globalen sozialen Missstände, politischer Verfolgung oder dem Verhältnis des Menschen zur Technologie. Sie sucht in ihrer Arbeit stets neue Schnittstellen zu anderen Medien und Künsten wie Tanz, Video, digitale Kunst, Licht, bildende Kunst und Performance.

Ying Wang kam 2003 aus Shanghai zunächst nach Köln und schließlich nach Berlin. Sie hat mit zahlreicheichen Orchestern und Ensembles in Europa sowie Asien zusammengearbeitet. 2013 wurden ihr der Produktionspreis des Giga-Hertz-Preises und der Komponistenpreis der 5. Brandenburger Biennale verliehen. Neben dem IEMA-Stipendium 2009/10 erhielt sie weitere Stipendien vom Experimentalstudio des SWR, vom Bundesministerium Wien und auf Vorschlag von Peter Eötvös vom Herrenhaus Edenkoben. 2014 gewann sie den 35. Irino prize für Kammerorchester in Tokio. 2015 lud der Deutschlandfunk sie als »Composer in residence« zum Festival »Forum Neuer Musik« in Köln ein. 2017 erhielt sie den Heidelberg Künstlerinnenpreis. 2020 war sie Stipendiatin der Deutschen Akademie in Rom.

Ying WANG absolvierte ihr Kompositionsstudium bei York Höller, Rebecca Saunders und Johannes Schöllhorn an der HfMT Köln. Elektronische Komposition studierte sie bei Michael Beil. 2010 schloss sie den Masterstudiengang für Zeitgenössische Musik an der Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt im Rahmen eines Stipendiums der Internationalen Ensemble Modern Akademie (IEMA) ab. 2012 nahm sie am Cursus de Composition et d’informatique musicale/Ircam Paris teil.

Werkinformation

Sven Ingo Koch: Simple Songs & Lieder des Verzehrens

Sven Ingo Koch: Simple Songs & Lieder des Verzehrens

1 maulbeeren
2 fenchel
3 marder
4 vogelgrabsong
5 streichholz

Lieder zu schreiben, Gesangliches zu komponieren, ist seit vielen Jahren mein Wunsch. Allerdings wollte ich mich auf jene Verfahren und Ausdrucksformen, die mir sonst bei meiner melodischen Arbeit wichtig sind, nicht verlassen: Eine »Heterochronität« simultaner Ebenen und achteltönig auskomponierte melodische Linien habe ich mit Blick auf die Besetzung zu Beginn des Arbeitsprozesses ausgeschlossen. In dieser Beschränkung lag zugleich der Reiz, mich bei manchen Liedern in Richtung »Song« zu bewegen.

Heterogenität entsteht in diesem kleinen Zyklus durch die Gegenüberstellung kontrastierender Lieder, bzw. eben Songs, die sich in ihrer Andersartigkeit wechselseitig perspektivieren. Die formale Anordnung der Lieder folgt dabei der Intensität der besungenen Formen des Verzehrens: Vom sehnsuchtsvollen Verspeisen der Maulbeeren und des Fenchels zum Blutrausch des Marders, der die Tauben »entkorkt«, zu den Vögeln, die sich über die menschlichen Körper hermachen, bis hin zum metaphorischen Streichholz, das sich (und seine Zeit) brennend verzehrt.
Simple Songs & Lieder des Verzehrens sind Viktoriia Vitrenko gewidmet.
Sven-Ingo Koch

Biografie

Sven Ingo Koch

Sven Ingo Koch

Sven-Ingo Koch (*1974 in Hagen) studierte Komposition, Computerkomposition, Klavierspiel und Musikwissenschaft an der Folkwang-Hochschule Essen, an der University of California San Diego und in Stanford, u.a. bei Nicolaus Huber, Roger Reynolds und Brian Ferneyhough. Zutiefst geprägt von dem aus diesen Studien resultierenden Kalifornien-Aufenthalt (1999-2003), ermöglicht durch Stipendien des DAAD und der Stanford University, wohnt Sven-Ingo Koch nun wieder in Deutschland, die Weiten der Strände und Wüsten Kaliforniens unsäglich vermissend. Prägend wirkten außerdem längere Aufenthalte in Rom (Villa Massimo) und Istanbul. Beeinflusst von den Erfahrungen seiner Reisejahre interessiert sich Sven-Ingo Koch einerseits für ein enges Verbinden, auch Überwinden von Gegensätzlichem, ist aber andererseits nicht minder fasziniert von der Simultanität sich überlagernder Zeitebenen: »Heterochronien«, in denen bei gleichzeitiger Reduktion des Materials verschiedene Ebenen nicht einer Zentralperspektive unterliegen. In Wechselwirkung damit steht die Hinterfragung der Interaktion der Instrumente und die Auslotung ihres Verhältnisses im Spannungsbereich zwischen radikaler Unabhängigkeit und gegenseitiger Bedingtheit.  Dies inspiriert auch die Suche nach einer Melodik, in der mikrotonal melodischemelodisch bedeutet auch: erinnerbareLinien sich unabhängig voneinander entfalten.

www.sven-ingo-koch.de

Werkinformation

Maxim Shalygin: Lieder der Heilgen Narren. Gesangszyklus

Maxim Shalygin: Lieder der Heilgen Narren. Gesangszyklus

Ich schrieb diesen Zyklus, als ich in die Niederlande zog, als eine Art Abschiedserklärung an mein früheres Ich. Ich wollte, dass die Leute es gleichzeitig auf dem Klavier spielen und singen können.
Teile:
1. Glocken (Originaltext)
2. Zärtlicher als die Zärtlichkeit selbst (nach einem Text von Osip Mandelstam, Fragment)
3. Aufruf (Originaltext, Anna Reshetniak gewidmet)
4. Wiegenlied (Originaltext, Vincent van Gogh gewidmet)
5. Lebyadkinas Lied (auf einen Text von Fjodor Dostojewski)
6. Abzählvers (Originaltext, Jim Jarmusch gewidmet)
7. Agnus Dei (Swjatoslaw Lunjow gewidmet)
Maxim Shalygin

Biografie

Maxim Shalygin

Maxim Shalygin

Die Kompositionen von Maxim Shalygin (*1985 in Kamianske, Ukraine) umfassen kammermusikalische, vokale, symphonische und elektroakustische Musik sowie Musik für Theater, Ballett und Film. Der Komponist erweitert die traditionelle Palette der Spieltechniken, wobei er weniger auf »erweiterte Techniken« zurückgreift, sondern die Klänge der Instrumente in ihrer ganzen kongenialen Klangfülle entfalten möchte. Er möchte »eine breite Palette von Techniken mit psychologischer Einsicht und Spiritualität verbinden: Keine akademischen Formeln also, auch keine avantgardistischen Radikalismen, sondern eine in sich geschlossene Skala von Spieltechniken, die nie die Verbindung zur Klanglichkeit kappt und so die Beibehaltung einer durch und durch tonalen Sprache ermöglicht.«

Maxim Shalygin begann im Alter von 16 Jahren ein Kompositionsstudium bei Irina Ivashenko. 2004 absolvierte er eine einjährige Ausbildung bei Boris Tishchenko am Staatlichen N. Rimski-Korsakow-Konservatorium St. Petersburg (RU). Seinen ersten Master-Abschluss erhielt er 2010 an der Nationalen Musikakademie in Kiew (UA). 2011 erhielt er seinen zweiten Master-Abschluss am Königlichen Konservatorium in Den Haag (NL), wo er bei Cornelis de Bondt und Diderik Wagenaar studierte. Er lebt und arbeitet derzeit in den Niederlanden. Shalygin war Composer-in-Residence in Izolyatsia [UA], beim Storioni Festival [NL] und beim Soundsofmusic Festival (NL). Seine Werke werden auf Musikfestivals weltweit aufgeführt.

Biografie

Viktoriia Vitrenko

Viktoriia Vitrenko

Die Sängerin und Dirigentin Viktoriia Vitrenko (*1990 in der Ukraine) schloss 2012 ihr Studium in Dirigieren an der Nationalen Musikakademie der Ukraine bei Viktor Petrychenko ab. 2015 absolvierte sie ihren Bachelor in Chordirigieren bei Denis Rouger an der Staatlichen Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst in Stuttgart. Ab 2014 studierte sie bei Angelika Luz und Georg Nigl im Masterstudiengang Neue Musik/Gesang.
Seither ist die vielseitige Musikerin sowohl als Dirigentinunter anderem des Kammerorchesters Pforzheim, des Concerto Tübingen, der Stuttgarter Philharmoniker, des Divertimento Ensembles und des Landesjugendensembles Neue Musik Baden-Württemberg als auch als Sängerin mit Auftritten in Musiktheater und zeitgenössischen projekten in zahlreichen Ländern Europas tätig.
Ihre Debut-CD »Scenes« (2019, AUDITE) mit Kammermusik von György Kurtág gewann den Supersonic Pizzicato und wurde für den Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik (PdSK-2019) und International Contemporary Music Awards 2020 (ICMA 2020) nominiert.
Der kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Austausch ist Viktoriia Vitrenko ein zentrales Anliegen. Sie sieht sich als Mittlerin für die ukrainische Kultur und setzt sich aktiv für einen Dialog ein. 2017 gründete sie zusammen mit Maria Kalesnikava und Jasmin Schädler die Initiative InterAkt, eine spartenübergreifende Initiative mit dem Fokus auf sozial-politische und technologische Themen.

Biografie

Titus Selge

Titus Selge

Titus Selge (*1966 in Münster) hospitierte und assistierte nach dem Abitur von 1985 bis 1988 am Württembergischen Staatstheater Stuttgart und hatte anschließend ein Festengagement am Theater Basel (Regie-Debüt mit »Le schmürz« von Boris Vian). Ab 1991 war er an verschiedenen Theatern im Bundesgebiet als Regisseur, Drehbuchautor und Schauspieler tätig. 1994 bis 1999 absolvierte er die Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg in Ludwigsburg, wo er nach Kurzfilmen (u. a. »Zita«, 1996) auch seinen Abschlussfilm drehte (»Altöl und Champagner«, 1999).
Titus Selge arbeitet als Regisseur und Drehbuchautor für Film und Fernsehen (Tatort, Polizeiruf 110 u.a.) sowie als Musiktheaterregisseur (u.a. »Geschichte« von Oscar Strasnoy mit den Neuen Vocalsolisten, 2010). Für seinen Film »Unterwerfung« (2018) mit dem Schauspieler Edgar Selge erhielt er 2019 den Romy-Akademiepreis für den besten TV-Film des Jahres.

19 LIMBO
Hintergrund

LimboViktoriia Vitrenko

Limbo Viktoriia Vitrenko
(Redaktion Sven-Ingo Koch)


Maria Kalesnikava gewidmet

 

Wie geht es dir?


Eine einfache Frage, auf die man keine einfache Antwort geben kann. Eine Frage, auf die man keine Antwort hören will.Eine Frage, auf die ich seit über sechs Monaten keine Antwort bekommen habe.

 

Ich lese die Nachrichten von dem »Superstar des Jahres«, dem Coronavirus, von fortwährenden, mich zur Verzweiflungtreibenden Lockdowns, von der zerplatzten Demokratie-Bombe in Belarus, und drehe mich in den politischen Debatten mit jenen Geiern, die von der Weltunruhe profitieren wollen. Auf der vergeblichen Suche nach einer Antwort. Ich fühle mich zerrissen und frage mich, mit welchen Worten, mit welcher Musik dieser Zustand beschrieben werden könnte.

 

Dabei zwingt mich die anhaltende Entwicklung der aktuellen Pandemie, in mein Innerstes hineinzuhören und mich mit mir selber auseinanderzusetzen.

 

Und was finde ich dort? Einerseits ist es eine unglaubliche Ruheso ruhig, dass sie an der Grenze zum Atemstillstand ist –, anderseits eine schreiende Sehnsucht nach Leben und Lebendigkeit. Ich spüre jedoch, dass gerade in diesem grenzhaften Zustand neue Prozesse geboren werden. Belarus. Was für mutige Menschen! Wo finden sie ihre Kräfte, gegenüber einem brutalen Regime stark zu bleiben? Und meine gute Freundin? Inmitten des ganzen Geschehens, seit inzwischen sechs Monaten in Haft. Allein, eingesperrt, aber doch nicht gebrochen.

 

Wie geht es dir?

 

Ich habe einen großen Drang zu schreien, darf aber nichtgerade wurden neue Ausgangs- beschränkungen verhängt, und meine Nachbarn schlagen stets gegen die Wand, wenn ich Musik mache. Und so krieche ich erneut zu meinem E-Klavier, setze die Kopfhörer auf und versuche, mich heranzutasten. Chopin geht nichtzu romantisch, Rachmaninoffzu pompös, Bachschon so viele Tote seit Pandemiebeginn. Ich suche etwas Einfaches, nur wenige Akkorde (kann Neue Musik das überhaupt?) und die Stimme schwebt ungewollt gleich dazu. Aber ganz leise summe ich vor mich hin,damit keiner mich hörtmeine Trostlosigkeit ist aktuell eine der ganzen Kultur.

 

Dabei komme ich mir andererseits vor wie ein Singer-Songwriter, wie eine Kabarettistin odernoch besserwie eine Königin, die die Bühne für sich allein beherrscht. Wie schade, dass es hier niemanden gibt, der mir dabei zusehen könnte. Ist doch ziemlich virtuos, zu spielen und gleichzeitig zu singen. Auch wennoder gerade: weiles so »simpel« ist, kommt es aus der Vielschichtigkeit der Neuen Musik. Ich schaue in mich hinein, in einen Ort zwischen Lebendigkeit irgendwo da draußen und Todesangst hier drinnen, in einen mysteriösen Orteinen Limbo.

 

Wie geht es dir?

 

Und ich versuche, diesen Limbo zu verstehen. Da ist erein Punkt, an dem ich nicht mehr das eine oder andere empfinde. Eher empfinde ich beides gleichzeitig. Lebendig und tot. Und in diesem Moment habe ich das Gefühl, Schrödingers Katze zu sein, die möglicherweise nicht lebt und doch lebt. Als Beobachterin kann ich aber nicht verstehen, in welchem dieser Zustände ich gerade bin.
Eingesperrt in dieser »Zwischenwelt« entsteht die Idee zu einem neuen Projekt.