Electrical Jungles

Kinga Tóth / Silvia Rosani

Kinga Toth (*1983, Sárvár, Hungary) writes and publishes short stories, poems and drama pieces in Hungarian, German and English languages. She is a musician, extensive vocalist, visual and sound-poet, presents her work in performances, exhibitions and installations international (e.g. MANIFESTA 11 Zürich; CROWD; OFF Biennale; Wechselstrom Galerie; Akademie Schloss Solitude). She is also philologist and teacher and has worked as a journalist and copy editor of art magazines, and as cultural program organizer. Tóth’s international publications include collections of poetry PARTY (PRAE, 2013, Hungary; BIRDS LCC, U.S.A. 2018), All Machine (2014, Hu and Allmaschine, Akademie Schloss Solitude, 2014), Village 0-24 (Eng, Melting Books 2016), Wir bauen eine Stadt (De, Parasitenpresse 2016) and a visual-art catalogue: Textbilder (GEDOK, 2016-2017) Her novel, The Moonlight Faces (The Lost Words Verlag, Netherlands; Magvető 2017) won the Hazai Attila and the best novel special prices in Hungary, with the English and German manuscripts she joined the International Writing Program in the U.S.A., the LCB, GEDOK, Bosch program in Germany. Her work has been published internationally in many magazines and journals including Solitude Art Yearbook, Stuttgart and Die Welt ist nicht erfunden, Solitude (2014) Huellkurven (Austria),), tapin2 (Fra), Colony (Ire), POETRY (USA), Lyrikline (De), York Literary Review (Ir), Wretched Strangers anthology, Words without borders Anthology. 2019/2020 she won the Hugo Ball Förderpreis for her intermedia art and literary work and 2020 she won the Bernard Heidsieck Price in centre Pompidou for her literature-media-performance work. www.kingatoth.com.

 

Silvia Rosani studied composition in Italy and at Mozarteum Universität (Salzburg, Austria) while also completing a degree in electronic engineering. Later, she moved to London to study for a PhD in Music, which she completed in 2016. She has been working as Associte Lecturer at Goldsmiths, University of London since 2013 and has recently started teaching Electronic Music Composition at the Conservatoire in Benevento and in Novara (Italy). Silvia Rosani’s research and artistic practice focus on the disruption of the boundaries between audience and performers through the use of audio-visual elements and technology. Her work aims to offer a multitude of listening perspectives rather than acknowledging a superior one, which she identifies with privilege. Fascinated by the role swapping between sanitary staff and patients Gilles Deleuze and Félix Guattari implemented within their clinic La Borde, Silvia investigates ways to create temporary low-hierarchy communities within the performance space by swapping roles between musicians and non-musicians. Her hope is that the feeling of empowerment the audience experience during the performance will persist for a while and permeate their everyday life, thus provoking some sort of transformation. Silvia is able to design performance frames within which these opportunities arise by combining the use of software for the implementation of machine learning algorithms and sound analysis and re-synthesis with the Internet of Things, or by preferring sound production systems, which control the vibration of objects in the performance space, thus turning the objects into hybrid instruments. Such objects allow non-musicians to experience the  physical relationship musicians have with their own instruments and, since they are sound-based rather than tone-based instruments, these hybrid instruments encourage sonic explorations without intimidating the visitors, who are not familiar with the Western music notation and theory. www.silviarosani.webs

Electrical Jungles

8
04.02.
16:30
Theaterhaus, T4

Kinga Tóth / Silvia Rosani: Electrical Jungles

Project in the context of Hannsmann-Poethen-Literaturstipendium by und with poet/performer Kinga Tóth and composer Silvia Rosani

 

In response to the Hungarian parliament’s refusal to ratify the Council of Europe’s Istanbul Convention on combating violence against women, the sound poet Kinga Tóth wrote the poem »Maurersfrau« (Bricklayer’s Wife). It became the basis for the project that Kinga Tóth and Silvia Rosani are developing together as part of their Hannsmann-Poethen Literary Scholarship from January to March 2022. Electrical Jungles consists of a series of radio conversations with female artists about domestic violence and gender inequality, as well as a performance/installation for voice and household appliances that can be controlled by anyone in the audience via an app developed by Silvia Rosani, making the concepts of outside influence, hierarchy, or feelings of powerlessness vividly tangible. Complementing their conversation, the two also give a taste of their final performance in their installation.

Electrical Jungles

Kinga Tóth / Silvia Rosani

Kinga Toth (*1983, Sárvár, Ungarn) schreibt und veröffentlicht Kurzgeschichten, Gedichte und Theaterstücke in ungarischer, deutscher und englischer Sprache. Sie ist Musikerin, ausgiebige Sängerin, Bild- und Klangpoetin und präsentiert ihre Arbeiten in Performances, Ausstellungen und Installationen international (u.a. MANIFESTA 11 Zürich; CROWD; OFF Biennale; Wechselstrom Galerie; Akademie Schloss Solitude). Sie ist auch Philologin und Lehrerin und hat als Journalistin und Redakteurin von Kunstzeitschriften sowie als Organisatorin von Kulturprogrammen gearbeitet. Zu Tóths internationalen Publikationen gehören die Gedichtbände PARTY (PRAE, 2013, Ungarn; BIRDS LCC, U.S.A. 2018), All Machine (2014, Hu und Allmaschine, Akademie Schloss Solitude, 2014), Village 0-24 (Eng, Melting Books 2016), Wir bauen eine Stadt (De, Parasitenpresse 2016) und ein Katalog zur visuellen Kunst: Textbilder (GEDOK, 2016-2017) Ihr Roman The Moonlight Faces (The Lost Words Verlag, Niederlande; Magvető 2017) gewann den Hazai Attila und den Sonderpreis für den besten Roman in Ungarn, mit den englischen und deutschen Manuskripten nahm sie am International Writing Program in den USA, dem LCB, GEDOK, Bosch-Programm in Deutschland teil. Ihre Arbeiten wurden international in zahlreichen Zeitschriften und Magazinen veröffentlicht, darunter Solitude Art Yearbook, Stuttgart und Die Welt ist nicht erfunden, Solitude (2014) Huellkurven (Österreich),), tapin2 (Fra), Colony (Ire), POETRY (USA), Lyrikline (De), York Literary Review (Ir), Wretched Strangers anthology, Words without borders Anthology. 2019/2020 erhielt sie den Hugo-Ball-Förderpreis für ihre intermediale Kunst- und Literaturarbeit und 2020 den Bernard-Heidsieck-Preis im Centre Pompidou für ihre Literatur-Medien-Performance-Arbeit. www.kingatoth.com.

 

Silvia Rosani studierte Komposition in Italien und an der Universität Mozarteum (Salzburg, Österreich) und absolvierte gleichzeitig ein Studium der Elektrotechnik. Später zog sie nach London, um einen Doktortitel in Musik zu erwerben, den sie 2016 abschloss. Seit 2013 arbeitet sie als Associte Lecturer an der Goldsmiths, University of London und unterrichtet seit kurzem elektronische Musikkomposition am Konservatorium in Benevento und in Novara (Italien). Silvia Rosanis Forschung und künstlerische Praxis konzentrieren sich auf die Aufhebung der Grenzen zwischen Publikum und Ausführenden durch den Einsatz von audiovisuellen Elementen und Technologien. Ihre Arbeit zielt darauf ab, eine Vielzahl von Hörperspektiven anzubieten, anstatt eine überlegene Perspektive anzuerkennen, die sie mit Privilegien gleichsetzt. Fasziniert von dem Rollentausch zwischen Sanitätspersonal und Patienten, den Gilles Deleuze und Félix Guattari in ihrer Klinik La Borde durchführten, untersucht Silvia Möglichkeiten, durch den Rollentausch zwischen Musikern und Nicht-Musikern temporäre hierarchiearme Gemeinschaften im Aufführungsraum zu schaffen. Sie hofft, dass das Gefühl der Ermächtigung, das das Publikum während der Aufführung erfährt, eine Weile anhält und in seinen Alltag eindringt und so eine Art von Transformation bewirkt. Silvia ist in der Lage, Aufführungsrahmen zu entwerfen, in denen sich diese Möglichkeiten ergeben, indem sie den Einsatz von Software für die Implementierung von Algorithmen des maschinellen Lernens und der Klanganalyse und Re-Synthese mit dem Internet der Dinge kombiniert, oder indem sie Klangerzeugungssysteme bevorzugt, die die Vibration von Objekten im Aufführungsraum steuern und die Objekte so in hybride Instrumente verwandeln. Solche Objekte ermöglichen es Nicht-Musikern, die physische Beziehung zu erleben, die Musiker zu ihren eigenen Instrumenten haben. Da es sich um klangbasierte und nicht um tonbasierte Instrumente handelt, regen diese hybriden Instrumente zu klanglichen Erkundungen an, ohne die Besucher einzuschüchtern, die nicht mit der westlichen Musiknotation und -theorie vertraut sind. www.silviarosani.webs

Electrical Jungles

8
04.02.
16:30
Theaterhaus, T4

Kinga Tóth / Silvia Rosani: Electrical Jungles

Projekt im Rahmen des Hannsmann-Poethen-Stipendiums von und mit der Schriftstellerin/Performerin Kinga Tóth und der Komponistin Silvia Rosani

 

Als Reaktion auf die Weigerung des ungarischen Parlaments, die Istanbul-Konvention des Europarats zur Bekämpfung von Gewalt gegen Frauen zu ratifizieren, schrieb die Lautpoetin Kinga Tóth das Gedicht »Maurersfrau«. Es wurde zur Grundlage für das Projekt, das Kinga Tóth und Silvia Rosani im Rahmen ihres Hannsmann-Poethen-Literaturstipendiums von Januar bis März 2022 gemeinsam entwickeln. Electrical Jungles besteht aus einer Reihe von Radiogesprächen mit Künstlerinnen über häusliche Gewalt und Geschlechterungleichheit sowie aus einer Performance/Installation für Stimme und Haushaltsgeräte, die von jede:r aus dem Publikum über eine von Silvia Rosani entwickelte App gesteuert werden können und die so die Begriffe von Fremdeinwirkung, Hierarchie oder Gefühle der Ohnmacht plastisch erlebbar machen. Ergänzend zu ihrem Gespräch geben die beiden in ihrer Installation auch  einen Vorgeschmack auf ihre Abschlussperformance.