Andreas Eduardo Frank

Andreas Eduardo Frank

Andreas Eduardo Frank (*1987) is a composer, media artist and performer. His œuvre is characterized by close collaborations with outstanding interpreters and artists of various disciplines.

He works at the interface between real and virtual, between music, performance, choreography, video and theater.
Playing with absurdity, humor and precision, he wants to »glitter in a virtuoso way with what doesn’t glitter, build castles of thought without fear of tearing them down again, in order to derive from their rubble a genuine concept of music that flirts boldly with other disciplines.«

He actively shapes numerous performances and commissions in Europe, Asia and America as a sound director or performer in addition to composing. His works are interpreted internationally by renowned sound ensembles and artist:ing. Since 2019 he is artistic director of the Ensemble Lemniscate Basel, he is laureate of the 64th composition competition of the state capital Stuttgart and since 2021 member of the program group of the Festival Rümlingen.

Matthias Rebstock

Matthias Rebstock

Matthias Rebstock (*1970 in Rottweil) works as a director and author in the field of contemporary music theater. The focus of his work is on play developments in the border area between music, theater and digital media as well as premieres of music theater and new operas. He studied piano, school music and philosophy at the UdK Berlin and King’s College London and assisted Daniel Ott, George Tabori, Andreas Homoki and Achim Freyer, among others. In 2001 he founded the music theater ensemble leitundlause and has since worked regularly with the stage and costume designer Sabine Hilscher. Since 2004 he has had a close collaboration with the composer Elena Mendoza. His works can be seen at national and international festivals and stages. Matthias Rebstock is professor of scenic music at the University of Hildesheim and author of numerous books and articles on forms of staging music, especially forms of musicalized theater, music theater and opera, as well as on the history and aesthetics of new music. Teaching assignments and guest lectureships have taken him to the UdK Berlin and the Hochschule der Künste Bern, among others.

Sabine Hilscher

Sabine Hilscher

Sabine Hilscher studied fine arts and costume design at the Udk Berlin. With a sculptural approach to costume design, she experiments with unusual materials and forms and an installative approach to stage spaces. Recently, the main focus of her work has been (premiere) performances in the field of new music with the director Matthias Rebstock, as well as work on the borderline between visual art/installation and theater. She works internationally for opera, drama, dance and music theater, in the field of children’s musical theater also with her own directorial works, and holds teaching and work commissions for costume/stage/performance at the University of Hildesheim, the HkB Braunschweig and the UdK Berlin. Sabine Hilscher persistently searches for interconnections in the arts, between graphics, drawing and projections, between music and movement, visual arts and prose texts. Since 2021 she is a scholarship holder of the state of Berlin for new German literature.

http://www.sabinehilscher.de

Miguel Ángel García Martín

Miguel Ángel García Martín

Miguel Ángel García Martín (*1989, Zamora) is a percussionist, performer and improviser active in a variety of contexts such as contemporary classical music, multidisciplinary performances and experimental music based in Basel, Switzerland.
Seeking new sound worlds, developing unconventional playing techniques and collaborating with other artists are currently the basis of his artistic praxis. Some fruitful examples are the collaboration with Swiss drummer Julian Sartorius or different music-theaters with e.g. Simon Steen-Andersen or Ondrej Adamek.
Miguel is member of the percussion quartet »ensemble this | ensemble that«, the »Fachbetrieb Rita Grechen« theater company, the »KvG Bottom Orchestra« and the »Ensemble Lemniscate«.
www.miguelangelgarciamartin.com

Neue Vocalsolisten

Neue Vocalsolisten

The seven singers see themselves as explorers and discoverers who are constantly searching for new forms of vocal expression in exchange with composers. One focus is the work with artists who virtuously exploit the possibilities of digital media, with a desire for networking, playing with genres, dissolving space, perspectives and functions. The ensemble’s projects are characterised by idiosyncratic interdisciplinary formats between music theatre, performance, installation and concert staging. With more than 30 premieres a year, the ensemble’s work is regarded worldwide as leading and unique in the field of contemporary vocal music. The ensemble’s partners are always top-class specialist ensembles and orchestras, international opera houses, the independent theatre scene, electronic studios and numerous organisers of festivals and concert series of new music all over the world.

 

Against this background, the Neue Vocalsolisten have formed the genre of vocal chamber music theater. The singers also regularly collaborate with artists from non-European musical cultures and genres. In VOICE AFFAIRS, the Neue Vocalsolisten initiate artistic border crossings in which contemporary music is infected by the diversity of Lebanon’s experimental music scenes.

In its new series »Magical Spaces«, the ensemble, together with three young web designers, explores future performance formats between analog and digital perception, exploring all the possibilities of digital media.

HYPHEMIND

HYPHEMIND

is a hybrid music theater: a real-virtual expedition into the whimsical world of fungi. What can we learn from the specialists of symbioses and their mycelial networks? What do our human ideas of individuality, intelligence and society look like from their perspective? Can we overcome the crisis of the Anthropocene with them and come to new forms of coexistence between humans, nature and machines?

The music of Andreas Eduardo Frank takes up the text of Matthias Rebstock and lets the most different styles collide in a virtuoso way. It plays with wit and power, with pop elements, analog synthesizers, shimmering soundscapes and through-composed light and video sequences. Like the mushrooms, the music is the medium of symbiosis and mediates between text, the analog visual language of Sabine Hilscher, AI-controlled animations by Niklas Berlec and the stage action.

Between presence and online performance, the online audience can establish contact with the hall audience, the performers and the unknown world of mushrooms through polls and online games. A digital-analogous wattle grows, which wants to connect with the mushroom mycelia to a cross-species network, the HYPHEMIND.

HYPHEMIND is a piece development in which text, music, performance, graphics and web design were created simultaneously and closely related to each other over a series of rehearsal phases.
Andreas Eduardo Frank and Matthias Rebstock

Andreas Eduardo Frank

Andreas Eduardo Frank (*1987) is a composer, media artist and performer. His œuvre is characterized by close collaborations with outstanding interpreters and artists of various disciplines.

He works at the interface between real and virtual, between music, performance, choreography, video and theater.
Playing with absurdity, humor and precision, he wants to »glitter in a virtuoso way with what doesn’t glitter, build castles of thought without fear of tearing them down again, in order to derive from their rubble a genuine concept of music that flirts boldly with other disciplines.«

He actively shapes numerous performances and commissions in Europe, Asia and America as a sound director or performer in addition to composing. His works are interpreted internationally by renowned sound ensembles and artist:ing. Since 2019 he is artistic director of the Ensemble Lemniscate Basel, he is laureate of the 64th composition competition of the state capital Stuttgart and since 2021 member of the program group of the Festival Rümlingen.

HYPHEMIND

15
05.02.
20:00
Theaterhaus, T2
Andreas Eduardo Frank composition Matthias Rebstock text, direction Sabine Hilscher stage, costume, graphics Miguel Ángel García Martín percussion, objects, performance alisch berlec hönow communication- and motion-design Matthias Schneider-Hollek sound direction Miriam Götz Produktionsassistenz
Neue Vocalsolisten

Andreas Eduardo Frank: HYPHEMIND

Music theater hybrid. (2021/22) ᵁᴬ

Developing »magic spaces« and using all digital possibilities to provide an interesting and auratic concert experience even for a distant audience was the artistic survival strategy of the Neue Vocalsolisten in the first months of the pandemic. Andreas Eduardo Frank was the composer of the pilot project »Super Safe Society«. Last but not least, the creative achievements from this project led to an attractive online ECLAT festival a year ago.

 

In 2022, we step it up and design a hybrid music theater that goes beyond digital skills to intertwine the two stage spaces (physical and virtual) and the two audiences (near and far). Thus was born the idea for HYPHEMIND, the piece about the intertwining and weaving and networking that hyphae and mycelia so fascinatingly demonstrate to us in all areas of life.

 

»They are there. Everywhere. They explore the soil for us, looping around root threads, picking up messengers and sending us their information.«

 

Together, the composer, the directing team, the interpreters and the three communication designerswho are also already on the »team of the first hour«develop a real-virtual expedition into the whimsical world of fungi.  What can we learn from these specialists of symbioses and networks? How do our human ideas of individuality, intelligence and society work from their perspective? Can we even overcome the crisis of the anthropocene with them and arrive at new forms of coexistence between humans, nature and machines?

 

»Ladies and gentlemen, thank you for being here. Without you, the Hyphemind would remain just one of those utopias. But with you we will succeed in bringing man, nature and machines into a new relationship. Life worth living is still possible. And as you may already sense: we are already forming a strong network!…«

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der
Schweizer Kulturstiftung pro helvetia

Andreas Eduardo Frank

Andreas Eduardo Frank

Andreas Eduardo Frank (*1987) ist Komponist, Medienkünstler und Performer. Sein Œuvre ist geprägt durch enge Kollaborationen mit herausragenden Interpret:innen und Künstler:innen verschiedenster Sparten.

Er arbeitet in seinen Werken an der Schnittstelle zwischen real und virtuell, zwischen Musik, Performance, Choreografie, Video und Theater.
Er spielt mit Absurdität, Humor und Präzision, möchte in seinen Werken »auf virtuose Weise mit dem glitzern, was nicht glänzt, Gedankenschlösser bauen, ohne Furcht, diese wieder niederzureißen, um aus deren Schutt einen genuinen Musikbegriff abzuleiten, der mutig mit anderen Disziplinen flirtet.«

Zahlreiche Aufführungen und Auftragswerke in Europa, Asien und Amerika gestaltet er neben der Komposition auch als Klangregisseur oder Performer aktiv mit. Seine Werke werden von renommierten Klangkörpern und Künstler:innen international interpretiert. Seit 2019 ist er künstlerischer Leiter des Ensemble Lemniscate Basel, er ist Preisträger des 64. Kompositionswettbewerbs der Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart und seit 2021 Mitglied der Programmgruppe des Festivals Rümlingen.

Matthias Rebstock

Matthias Rebstock

Matthias Rebstock (*1970 in Rottweil) arbeitet als Regisseur und Autor im Bereich des zeitgenössischen Musiktheaters. Den Schwerpunkt seiner Arbeit bilden Stückentwicklungen im Grenzbereich zwischen Musik, Theater und digitalen Medien sowie Uraufführungen von Musiktheater und neuen Opern. Er studierte Klavier, Schulmusik und Philosophie an der UdK Berlin und am King’s College London und assistierte u.a. bei Daniel Ott, George Tabori, Andreas Homoki und Achim Freyer. 2001 gründete er das Musiktheaterensemble leitundlause und arbeitet seither regelmäßig mit der Bühnen- und Kostümbildnerin Sabine Hilscher. Seit 2004 verbindet ihn eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit der Komponistin Elena Mendoza. Seine Arbeiten sind auf nationalen und internationalen Festivals und Bühnen zu sehen. Matthias Rebstock ist Professor für Szenische Musik an der Universität Hildesheim und Autor von zahlreichen Büchern und Artikeln zu Formen der Inszenierung von Musik, insbesondere Formen des musikalisierten Theaters, des Musiktheaters und der Oper, sowie zur Geschichte und Ästhetik der Neuen Musik. Lehraufträge und Gastdozenturen führten ihn u.a. an die UdK Berlin und die Hochschule der Künste Bern.

Sabine Hilscher

Sabine Hilscher

Sabine Hilscher studierte bildende Kunst und Kostümbild an der Udk Berlin. Mit einer bildhauerischen Herangehensweise an die Kostümgestaltung experimentiert sie mit ungewöhnlichen Materialien und Formen und einem installativen Zugang zu Bühnenräumen. Schwerpunkte Ihrer Arbeit sind inzwischen vor allem (Ur-)aufführungen im Bereich Neue Musik mit dem Regisseur Matthias Rebstock sowie die Arbeit an der Grenze von Bildender Kunst/Installation und Theater. Sie arbeitet international für Oper, Schauspiel, Tanz und Musiktheater, im Bereich des Kindermusiktheateras auch mit eigenen Regiearbeiten, und hat Lehr- und Werkaufträge für Kostüm/Bühne/Performance an der Universität Hildesheim, der HkB Braunschweig und der UdK Berlin. Sabine Hilscher sucht beharrlich nach Vernetzungen in den Künsten, zwischen Grafik, Zeichnung und Projektionen, zwischen Musik und Bewegung, Bildender Kunst und Prosatexten. Seit 2021 ist sie Stipendiatin des Landes Berlin für neue deutsche Literatur.

http://www.sabinehilscher.de

Miguel Ángel García Martín

Miguel Ángel García Martín

Miguel Ángel García Martín (*1989, Zamora) ist ein Perkussionist, Performer und Improvisator, der in verschiedenen Kontexten wie zeitgenössischer klassischer Musik, multidisziplinären Performances und experimenteller Musik tätig ist und in Basel, Schweiz, lebt.
Die Suche nach neuen Klangwelten, die Entwicklung unkonventioneller Spieltechniken und die Zusammenarbeit mit anderen Künstlern bilden derzeit die Grundlage seiner künstlerischen Praxis. Einige fruchtbare Beispiele sind die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schweizer Schlagzeuger Julian Sartorius oder verschiedene Musiktheater mit z.B. Simon Steen-Andersen oder Ondrej Adamek.
Miguel ist Mitglied des Schlagzeugquartetts »ensemble this | ensemble that«, des »Fachbetrieb Rita Grechen«, des »KvG Bottom Orchestra« und des »Ensemble Lemniscate«.
www.miguelangelgarciamartin.com

Neue Vocalsolisten

Neue Vocalsolisten

Die sieben Sänger:innen verstehen sich als Forscher und Entdecker, die im Austausch mit Komponist:innen stets nach neuen vokalen Ausdrucksformen suchen. Ein Schwerpunkt ist die Arbeit mit Künstler:innen, die virtuos die Möglichkeiten der digitalen Medien ausreizen, mit Lust an der Vernetzung, im Spiel mit den Genres, im Auflösen von Raum, von Perspektiven und Funktionen. So prägen eigensinnige interdisziplinäre Formate zwischen Musiktheater, Performance, Installation und Konzert-Inszenierung die Projekte des Ensembles, dessen Arbeit mit über 30 Uraufführungen jährlich weltweit als führend und einzigartig im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Vokalmusik angesehen wird. Partner des Ensembles sind dabei stets hochkarätige Spezialistenensembles und Orchester, internationale Opernhäuser, die freie Theaterszene, elektronische Studios sowie zahlreiche Veranstalter von Festivals und Konzertreihen neuer Musik in aller Welt.

 

Vor diesem Hintergrund haben die Neuen Vocalsolisten das Genre des vokalen Kammer-Musik-Theaters geformt. Regelmäßig und mit großem Interesse arbeiten die Sänger*innen auch mit Künstler*innen aus außereuropäischen Musikkulturen und -genres zusammen. In VOICE AFFAIRS initiieren die Neuen Vocalsolisten künstlerische Grenzüberschreitungen, in denen die zeitgenössische Musik durch die Diversität der experimentellen Musikszenen Libanons infiziert wird.

In seiner neuen Reihe »Magische Räume« erforscht das Ensemble zusammen mit drei jungen Webdesignern zukünftige Aufführungsformate zwischen analoger und digitaler Wahrnehmung und reizt alle Möglichkeiten digitaler Medien aus.

HYPHEMIND

HYPHEMIND

ist ein hybrides Musiktheater: eine real-virtuelle Expedition in die skurrile Welt der Pilze. Was können wir von den Spezialisten der Symbiosen und ihren Mycelnetzwerken lernen? Wie sehen aus ihrer Perspektive unsere menschlichen Vorstellungen von Individualität, Intelligenz und Gesellschaft aus? Können wir mit ihnen die Krise des Anthropozäns überwinden und zu neuen Formen des Miteinander von Mensch, Natur und Maschinen kommen?

Die Musik von Andreas Eduardo Frank greift den Text von Matthias Rebstock auf und lässt auf virtuose Weise unterschiedlichste Stilistiken aufeinanderprallen. Sie spielt mit Witz und Power, mit Popelementen, analogen Synthesizern, schillernden Klangflächen und durchkomponierten Licht und Videosequenzen. Wie die Pilze, ist die Musik das Medium der Symbiose und vermittelt zwischen Text, der analogen Bildsprache von Sabine Hilscher, KI-gesteuerten Animationen von Niklas Berlec und dem Bühnengeschehen.

Zwischen Präsenz- und Onlineperformance kann das Onlinepublikum durch Polls und Online-Games den Kontakt zum Saalpublikum, den Darsteller:innen und zur unbekannten Welt der Pilze herstellen. Es wächst ein digital-analoges Geflecht, das sich mit den Pilzmycelien zu einem artenübergreifenden Netzwerk verbinden will, dem HYPHEMIND.

HYPHEMIND ist eine Stückentwicklung, bei der Text, Musik, Performance, Grafik und Webdesign über eine Reihe von Probenphasen gleichzeitig und eng aufeinander bezogen entstanden sind.
Andreas Eduardo Frank und Matthias Rebstock

Andreas Eduardo Frank

Andreas Eduardo Frank (*1987) ist Komponist, Medienkünstler und Performer. Sein Œuvre ist geprägt durch enge Kollaborationen mit herausragenden Interpret:innen und Künstler:innen verschiedenster Sparten.

Er arbeitet in seinen Werken an der Schnittstelle zwischen real und virtuell, zwischen Musik, Performance, Choreografie, Video und Theater.
Er spielt mit Absurdität, Humor und Präzision, möchte in seinen Werken »auf virtuose Weise mit dem glitzern, was nicht glänzt, Gedankenschlösser bauen, ohne Furcht, diese wieder niederzureißen, um aus deren Schutt einen genuinen Musikbegriff abzuleiten, der mutig mit anderen Disziplinen flirtet.«

Zahlreiche Aufführungen und Auftragswerke in Europa, Asien und Amerika gestaltet er neben der Komposition auch als Klangregisseur oder Performer aktiv mit. Seine Werke werden von renommierten Klangkörpern und Künstler:innen international interpretiert. Seit 2019 ist er künstlerischer Leiter des Ensemble Lemniscate Basel, er ist Preisträger des 64. Kompositionswettbewerbs der Landeshauptstadt Stuttgart und seit 2021 Mitglied der Programmgruppe des Festivals Rümlingen.

HYPHEMIND

15
05.02.
20:00
Theaterhaus, T2
Andreas Eduardo Frank Komposition Matthias Rebstock Text, Regie Sabine Hilscher Bühne, Kostüm, Grafik Miguel Ángel García Martín Perkussion, Objekte, Performance alisch berlec hönow Kommunikations- und Motiondesign Matthias Schneider-Hollek Klangregie Miriam Götz Produktionsassistenz
Neue Vocalsolisten

Andreas Eduardo Frank: HYPHEMIND

Musiktheater hybrid. (2021/22) ᵁᴬ

Magische Räume« zu entwickeln und alle digitalen Möglichkeiten zu nutzen, um auch einem entfernten Publikum ein interessantes und auratisches Konzerterlebnis zu ermöglichen, war die künstlerische Überlebensstrategie der Neuen Vocalsolisten in den ersten Monaten der Pandemie. Andreas Eduardo Frank war der Komponist des Pilotprojekts »Super Safe Society«. Nicht zuletzt führten die gestalterischen Errungenschaften aus diesem Projekt zu einem attraktiven Online-ECLAT-Festival vor einem Jahr.

 

2022 legen wir eine Schippe drauf und entwerfen ein hybrides Musiktheater, das über die digitalen Skills hinaus die beiden Bühnenräume (physisch und virtuell) und die beiden Publika (nah und fern) miteinander verflicht. So entstand die Idee zu HYPHEMIND, dem Stück über das Verflechten und Verweben und Netzwerken, das die Hyphen und Mycelien uns so faszinierend in allen Lebensbereichen vormachen.

 

»Sie sind da. Überall. Sie erkunden für uns den Boden, schlingen sich um Wurzelfäden, nehmen Botenstoffe auf und schicken uns ihre Informationen.«

 

Gemeinsam entwickeln der Komponist, das Regieteam, die Interpret:innen und die drei Kommunikationsdesignerauch sie bereits im »Team der ersten Stunde«eine real-virtuelle Expedition in die skurrile Welt der Pilze. Was können wir von diesen Spezialisten der Symbiosen und Netzwerke lernen? Wie wirken aus ihrer Perspektive unsere menschlichen Vorstellungen von Individualität, Intelligenz und Gesellschaft? Können wir gar mit ihnen die Krise des Anthropozäns überwinden und zu neuen Formen des Miteinander von Mensch, Natur und Maschinen kommen?

 

»Meine Damen und Herren, danke, dass Sie hier sind. Ohne Sie bliebe der Hyphemind nur eine von diesen Utopien. Aber mit Ihnen wird es uns gelingen, Mensch, Natur und Maschinen in ein neues Verhältnis zu bringen. Lebenswertes Leben ist noch möglich. Und wie Sie vielleicht schon spüren: wir bilden bereits ein starkes Netzwerk!…«

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung der
Schweizer Kulturstiftung pro helvetia