Kilian Herold

Kilian Herold

Ensemble Musikfabrik

Ensemble Musikfabrik

Ever since its formation in 1990, Ensemble Musikfabrik has had the reputation of being one of the leading ensembles for contemporary music. Following the literal meaning of its name, Ensemble Musikfabrik is particularly dedicated to artistic innovation. New, unknown, and often personally commissioned works in unusual media are typical of their productions. The results of their extensive work, usually taking place in close collaboration with the composers, are presented by the Cologne-based international soloist ensemble in up to 80 concerts a year in both Germany and abroad, at Festivals, in their own series »Musikfabrik in WDR« and in regular radio recordings and CD productions.
Ensemble Musikfabrik is supported by the state of North Rhine-Westphalia.

5 Things That Really Matter

5 Things That Really Matter

»5 Things That Really Matter«, composed for large ensemble and electronics, is the result of an exploration of various possible relationships between the composer, the performers, the notation, and the sound. In the first part of the piece, the musicians play a traditionally written scoretreating the ensemble as one large instrument made up of many individual bodies. In the second part, the performers create living sculptures by taking silent »selfies« with instruments treated as requisites. In the third part, the performers become co-composersthey are asked to »translate« the samples provided by the composer through their sensitivity and their instruments.
Mikołaj Laskowski

Mikołaj Laskowski

Berlin-based composer Mikołaj Laskowski (*1988 in Poland) is interested in blurring borders between the performer and the listener, distance and intimacy, kitsch and sophistication, irony and seriousness.

He combines various inspirations, such as science fiction, New Age, ASMR, and plunderphonics creating concert music, participatory performances, and online pieces.

Acht Arten zu atmen

Acht Arten zu atmen

In the »Eight Ways of Breathing« sounds run in a circlefrom the human being via technique and instrument back to the human being. My first ideas are not created in writing, but as close to the body as possiblesung. Every spontaneous human utterance gets the chance to become part of the musical storythe sounds should be a direct reflection of our environment, it is not sorted out and optimized according to high aesthetic criteria. The sounding found objects are often humorous, strange and full of extra-musical associations that do not even have to be verbally named. With various toys and sound objects I try to recreate the sounds, thus approximating them to an accordion or a clarinet. The performers are involved early in the creation processI confront them with the insoluble task of imitating my toy sounds. Their alternative suggestions become samples. Through their transcription, the first written level of the composition is created; inspired by this, the score can be freely spun on. In »Querschnitt« the simultaneity of all these musical layers manifests itself. But the sounds are not subject to any hierarchy, there is no »progress«. The form does not didactically reflect the evolution of sounds, but each miniature combines the different stages of development according to its own whim. Through the occasional »singing along« of the musicians, the circle closes: they feel the basic course of tensionbut not as imagined by me at the beginning, but in their own personal way.
Benjamin Scheuer

Benjamin Scheuer

Benjamin Scheuer’s music is all about directly experienceable sensuality and humor. The joy of making music and the search for unusual sounds are a constant motivation for himin the process, abysses sometimes open up, but people are also allowed to laugh. Sounds found in everyday life are presented as objects directly on stage or played as recordings: Scheuer’s approach of »live electrics« always applies hereelectronic sounds are always created with the simplest and cheapest possible means. For it is not technology, but the human being with his voice, in his individuality and fallibility, that is the focus of his interest.
Benjamin Scheuer (*1987 in Henstedt-Ulzburg) studied in Hamburg and Karlsruhe with Dieter Mack, Fredrik Schwenk and Wolfgang Rihm. In Freiburg he is working on a dissertation project on Georges Aperghis’ théâtre musical. His compositions are performed in various countries and by renowned ensembles. Among others, »Zeitraum« (2012) was heard for 600 players in the soccer stadium of Hanover and with the »Notfallkonzerte« (Emergency Concerts), which have been performed since 2012, he makes a modest contribution to saving the world with music of today together with the Orchester im Treppenhaus. In his cycle »Impulsive Lieder« (2016) he humorously explores the limits of vocal expression.
He has received various awards and working scholarships for his work. As a founding member of Musiker ohne Grenzen e.V., he regularly traveled to Ecuador, where he gave music lessons to disadvantaged youth.
www.benjaminscheuer.de

Abstraction to the Point of

Abstraction to the Point of

The piece for oboe and ensemble is divided into three movements. The first movement, claustrofobico, is made up of a series of 71 fragments, which relentlessly follow each other, always guided by the voice of the oboe with no way out, searching for a form that can be perceived as both continuous and discreet at the same time. The second movement, geometrico e freddo, is built on and around the sound of some bichords of the oboe. These sounds, delicate and harsh and metallic at the same time, are at the centre of long chordal clusters, which appear almost as an amplification, in several directions, of the same bichords. In the third movement, in equilibrio sulle punte, the percussion-led rhythmic ostinato is maintained from the beginning to the end. The oboe keeps its function as chordal »centre«, but in the perspective of an inexorable and obsessive flow, until a sudden acceleration appears, unleashing the soloist’s virtuosity.
Francesco Ciurlo

Francesco Ciurlo

Francesco Ciurlo (*1987 in Milan) studied composition in Milan with Gabriele Manca and in Stuttgart with Marco Stroppa. In March 2022, a monographic CD recorded by Divertimento Ensemble will be released by Stradivarius Label. The focus of his recent compositional practice lies in the search for a form that stems from the rejection of the horizontal and consequently narrative, or even dramaturgical, conception of time. His interest in anti-narrative and anti-dramaturgical forms originates from his fascination with ancient music, and with certain extra-musical references, such as the films of Marco Ferreri, the novels of Roberto Bolaño and theater plays by Sarah Kane, as well as with visual art, specifically Gerhard Richter’s colour charts, whose technique of organising colours has had a deep influence on the structural organisation of his works. The goal of this approach is to achieve a sort of glance, like in the case of a painting or a sculpture from a relative distance. The horizontal flow of time does not take on the character of development, unfolding or transformation, but allows the framing of different details of the same sight, like a fabric always made of the same material, but still elastic and capable of deforming itself.

Prize Winner Concert

6
03.02.
20:00
Theaterhaus, T1
Kilian Herold clarinet Teodoro Anzellotti accordion Peter Veale oboe Ensemble Musikfabrik

Mikołaj Laskowski: 5 Things That Really Matter

for ensemble (2018)

Benjamin Scheuer: Acht Arten zu atmen

for clarinet, accordion and samples (2020)

Doppel / leichtfüßig / Stocherndes Lied / Querschnitt / Krummer Kanon / bel canto / Orgelpunkt / Geschnatter

Francesco Ciurlo: Abstraction to the Point of

for oboe and ensemble (2020) ᵁᴬ

In 2021, three conceivably different composers received the Composition Prize of the City of Stuttgart, which is traditionally awarded at the following ECLAT. The »tonal found objects« of the first prize winner Benjamin Scheuer, who attempts to recreate sounds with various toys and sound objects, are often humorous, strange, and full of extra-musical associations. Mikołaj Laskowski is interested in the blurring of boundaries between performers and listeners, distance and intimacy, kitsch and subtlety, irony and seriousness. In his work, he explores the different possible relationships between the composer, the performers, the notation, and the sound. Francesco Ciurlo refers to films by Marco Ferreri, novels by Roberto Bolaño or plays by Sarah Kane in his search for forms that derive from an anti-narrative and anti-dramaturgical conception of time. And above all, the color charts of Gerhard Richter, his technique of organizing colors, had a great influence on the structural organization of his works.

 

Sendung SWR2 JetztMusik
3. März 2022 / 21:0522:00 Uhr

Kilian Herold

Kilian Herold

Ensemble Musikfabrik

Ensemble Musikfabrik

Seit seiner Gründung 1990 zählt das Ensemble Musikfabrik zu den führenden Klangkörpern der zeitgenössischen Musik. Dem Anspruch des eigenen Namens folgend, ist das Ensemble Musikfabrik in besonderem Maße der künstlerischen Innovation verpflichtet. Neue, unbekannte, in ihrer medialen Form ungewöhnliche und oft erst eigens in Auftrag gegebene Werke sind sein eigentliches Produktionsfeld. Die Ergebnisse dieser häufig in enger Kooperation mit den Komponisten geleisteten Arbeit präsentiert das in Köln beheimatete internationale Solistenensemble in jährlich bis zu 80 Konzerten im In- und Ausland, auf Festivals, in der eigenen Abonnementreihe »Musikfabrik im WDR« und in regelmäßigen Audioproduktionen für den Rundfunk und den CD-Markt.
Ensemble Musikfabrik wird vom Land Nordrhein-Westfalen unterstützt.

5 Things That Really Matter

5 Things That Really Matter

»5 Things That Really Matter«, komponiert für großes Ensemble und Elektronik, ist das Ergebnis einer Erkundung verschiedener möglicher Beziehungen zwischen dem Komponisten, den Ausführenden, der Notation und dem Klang. Im ersten Teil des Stücks spielen die Musiker eine traditionell geschriebene Partitur und behandeln das Ensemble als ein großes Instrument, das aus vielen einzelnen Körpern besteht. Im zweiten Teil schaffen die Interpreten lebende Skulpturen, indem sie stille »Selfies« mit Instrumenten machen, die als Requisiten behandelt werden. Im dritten Teil werden die Interpreten zu Mitkomponistensie werden aufgefordert, die vom Komponisten bereitgestellten Samples durch ihre Sensibilität und ihre Instrumente zu »übersetzen«.
Mikołaj Laskowski

Mikołaj Laskowski

Der Berlin lebende Komponist Mikołaj Laskowski (*1988 in Polen) interessiert sich für die Verwischung der Grenzen zwischen Ausführenden und Zuhörern, Distanz und Intimität, Kitsch und Raffinesse, Ironie und Ernsthaftigkeit.

Er kombiniert verschiedene Inspirationen wie Science Fiction, New Age, ASMR und Plunderphonics und kreiert Konzertmusik, partizipative Performances und Online-Stücke.

Acht Arten zu atmen

Acht Arten zu atmen

In den »Acht Arten zu Atmen« laufen Klänge im Kreisvom Menschen über Technik und Instrument zum Menschen zurück. Meine ersten Ideen entstehen nicht schriftlich, sondern so nah am Körper wie möglichgesungen. Jede spontane menschliche Äußerung bekommt die Chance, Teil der musikalischen Geschichte zu werdendie Klänge sollen ein unmittelbares Abbild unserer Umwelt sein, es wird nicht nach hohen ästhetischen Kriterien aussortiert und optimiert. Die tönenden Fundstücke sind oft humorvoll, merkwürdig und voll von außermusikalischen Assoziationen, die gar nicht verbal benannt werden müssen. Mit diversen Spielzeugen und Klangobjekten versuche ich die Klänge nachzubilden, sie so einem Akkordeon oder einer Klarinette anzunähern. Die Interpreten werden früh in den Entstehungsprozess eingebundenich konfrontiere sie mit der unlösbaren Aufgabe, meine Spielzeugklänge zu imitieren. Aus ihren Alternativvorschlägen werden Samples. Durch deren Transkription entsteht die erste schriftliche Ebene der Komposition, inspiriert davon lässt sich die Partitur frei weiterspinnen. Im »Querschnitt« manifestiert sich die Gleichzeitigkeit all dieser musikalischen Schichten. Doch die Klänge unterliegen keiner Hierarchie, es gibt keinen »Fortschritt«. Die Form reflektiert nicht didaktisch die Evolution von Klängen, sondern jede Miniatur kombiniert die unterschiedlichen Entwicklungsstadien nach Lust und Laune. Durch das gelegentliche »Mitsingen« der Musiker schließt sich der Kreis: Sie empfinden den grundlegenden Spannungsverlauf nachaber nicht wie von mir zu Beginn imaginiert, sondern auf ihre ganz persönliche Weise.
Benjamin Scheuer

Benjamin Scheuer

In Benjamin Scheuers Musik dreht sich alles um direkt erfahrbare Sinnlichkeit und Humor. Freude am Musizieren und die Suche nach ungewöhnlichen Klängen sind ihm ein ständiger Antriebdabei tun sich durchaus einmal Abgründe auf, es darf aber auch gerne gelacht werden. Im Alltag gefundene Klänge werden als Objekte direkt auf der Bühne präsentiert oder als Aufnahmen zugespielt: Hier gilt stets Scheuers Ansatz der »Live-Elektrik«elektronische Klänge werden immer mit den einfachsten und billigst möglichen Mitteln erzeugt. Denn nicht die Technik, sondern der Mensch mit seiner Stimme, in seiner Individualität und Fehlbarkeit steht im Zentrum seines Interesses.

Benjamin Scheuer (*1987 in Henstedt-Ulzburg) studierte in Hamburg und Karlsruhe bei Dieter Mack, Fredrik Schwenk und Wolfgang Rihm. In Freiburg arbeitet er an einem Dissertationsprojekt über Georges Aperghis‘ théâtre musical. Seine Kompositionen werden in diversen Ländern und von renommierten Ensembles aufgeführt. Unter anderem erklang »Zeitraum« (2012) für 600 Spieler im Fußballstadion Hannover und mit den seit 2012 durchgeführten »Notfallkonzerten« leistet er zusammen mit dem Orchester im Treppenhaus einen bescheidenen Beitrag zur Rettung der Welt mit Musik von heute. In seinem Zyklus »Impulsive Lieder« (2016) lotet er auf humorvolle Weise die Grenzen des vokalen Ausdrucks aus.

Für seine Arbeit erhielt er diverse Preise und Arbeitsstipendien. Als Gründungsmitglied des Musiker ohne Grenzen e.V. reiste er regelmäßig nach Ecuador, wo er benachteiligten Jugendlichen Musikunterricht gab.

www.benjaminscheuer.de

Abstraction to the Point of

Abstraction to the Point of

Das Stück für Oboe und Ensemble ist in drei Sätze unterteilt. Der erste Satz, claustrofobico, besteht aus einer Reihe von 71 Fragmenten, die unerbittlich aufeinander folgen, immer geführt von der Stimme der Oboe ohne Ausgang, auf der Suche nach einer Form, die gleichzeitig als kontinuierlich und diskret wahrgenommen werden kann. Der zweite Satz, geometrico e freddo, ist auf und um den Klang einiger Bichorde der Oboe herum aufgebaut. Diese Klänge, zart und rau und metallisch zugleich, stehen im Zentrum langer Akkordgruppen, die fast wie eine Verstärkung derselben Bichorde in verschiedene Richtungen wirken. Im dritten Satz, in equilibrio sulle punte, wird das vom Schlagzeug geführte rhythmische Ostinato vom Anfang bis zum Ende beibehalten. Die Oboe behält ihre Funktion als akkordisches »Zentrum«, aber in der Perspektive eines unerbittlichen und zwanghaften Flusses, bis eine plötzliche Beschleunigung auftritt, die die Virtuosität des Solisten entfesselt.
Francesco Ciurlo

Francesco Ciurlo

Francesco Ciurlo (*1987 in Mailand) studierte Komposition in Mailand bei Gabriele Manca und in Stuttgart bei Marco Stroppa. Im März 2022 wird eine vom Divertimento Ensemble aufgenommene monografische CD beim Label Stradivarius erscheinen. Der Schwerpunkt seiner neueren kompositorischen Praxis liegt in der Suche nach einer Form, die sich aus der Ablehnung der horizontalen und folglich narrativen oder sogar dramaturgischen Auffassung von Zeit ergibt. Sein Interesse an anti-narrativen und anti-dramaturgischen Formen entspringt seiner Faszination für Alte Musik und für bestimmte außermusikalische Referenzen wie die Filme von Marco Ferreri, die Romane von Roberto Bolaño und die Theaterstücke von Sarah Kane sowie für die bildende Kunst, insbesondere für die Farbkarten von Gerhard Richter, dessen Technik der Organisation von Farben einen großen Einfluss auf die strukturelle Organisation seiner Werke hatte. Das Ziel dieses Ansatzes ist es, eine Art Blick zu erreichen, wie bei einem Gemälde oder einer Skulptur aus einer relativen Entfernung. Der horizontale Zeitfluss hat nicht den Charakter einer Entwicklung, Entfaltung oder Verwandlung, sondern ermöglicht es, verschiedene Details ein und desselben Anblicks zu erfassen, wie ein Stoff, der immer aus demselben Material besteht, aber dennoch elastisch ist und sich verformen kann.

Preisträger­konzert

6
03.02.
20:00
Theaterhaus, T1
Kilian Herold Klarinette Teodoro Anzellotti Akkordeon Peter Veale Oboe Ensemble Musikfabrik

Mikołaj Laskowski: 5 Things That Really Matter

für Ensemble (2018)

Benjamin Scheuer: Acht Arten zu atmen

für Klarinette, Akkordeon und Samples
Doppel / leichtfüßig / Stocherndes Lied / Querschnitt / Krummer Kanon / bel canto / Orgelpunkt / Geschnatter (2020)

Francesco Ciurlo: Abstraction to the Point of

für Oboe und Ensemble (2020) ᵁᴬ

Im Jahr 2021 erhielten drei denkbar unterschiedliche Komponisten den Kompositionspreis der Stadt Stuttgart, der traditionell beim darauffolgenden ECLAT verliehen wird. Die »tönenden Fundstücke« des ersten Preisträgers Benjamin Scheuer, der mit diversen Spielzeugen und Klangobjekten Klänge nachzubilden versucht, sind dabei oft humorvoll, merkwürdig und voll von außermusikalischen Assoziationen. Mikołaj Laskowski interessiert sich für die Verwischung der Grenzen zwischen Ausführenden und Zuhörern, Distanz und Intimität, Kitsch und Raffinesse, Ironie und Ernsthaftigkeit. In seinem Werk erkundet er die unterschiedlichen möglichen Beziehungen zwischen dem Komponisten, den Ausführenden, der Notation und dem Klang. Francesco Ciurlo bezieht sich in seiner Suche nach Formen, die sich aus einer anti-narrativen und anti-dramaturgischen Auffassung von Zeit ergeben, auf Filme von Marco Ferreri, Romane von Roberto Bolaño oder Theaterstücke von Sarah Kane. Und vor allem die Farbkarten von Gerhard Richter, dessen Technik der Organisation von Farben, hatten einen großen Einfluss auf die strukturelle Organisation seiner Werke.

 

Sendung SWR2 JetztMusik
3. März 2022 / 21:0522:00 Uhr