Judith Hamann

Judith Hamann

Judith Hamann (*1983 in Birraranga/Narrm, Melbourne/Australien) is a cellist and performer/composer from Narrm/Melbourne. They have »long been recognised as one of Australia’s foremost contemporary-music cellists« (RealTime Arts), and as a composer who »destroys the fiction of the musician who lives and works outside conventional parameters and puts in its place a series of compositions that are fundamentally humane« (WIRE). Their work encompasses performance, improvisation, electro-acoustic composition, site specific generative work, and micro-tonal systems in a process based creative practice.

Currently Judith’s work is focused on an examination of expressions and manifestations of ‘shaking’ in solo performance practice, a collection of new works for cello and humming, as well as ongoing research surrounding ‘collapse’ as a generative imaginary sonic surface. Judith is currently a fellow at the Akademie Schloss Solitude and holds a doctorate from the University of California, San Diego in contemporary cello performance under the supervision of cellist Charles Curtis.

James Rushford

James Rushford

James Rushford (*1985 in Melbourne/Australien) is a composer-performer whose work is drawn from specific concrète, improvised, avant-garde and collagist languages. He has created work for major international ensembles, festivals and organisations, and works regularly with artists including crys cole, Oren Ambarchi, Klaus Lang, Kassel Jaeger, Annea Lockwood, Graham Lambkin and Tashi Wada. His most recent albums have been released by Unseen Worlds (US), Black Truffle (AU) and Shelter Press (FR). Currently his work deals with the aesthetic concept of musical shadow––different images of perspectival obscurity in sound and music.

Midmeste

17
06.02.
13:30
Theaterhaus, T4
Judith Hamann violoncello James Rushford portative

»Midmeste« comes from Old English and means »in between« or »in the middle«. Taking advantage of a joint residency at Akademie Schloss Solitude, the two Australian musicians, who have collaborated in various constellations for many years, develop the work in which they meet »in the middle« of their shared interests, especially in terms of creating and embedding »sound« in broader conceptual images, influenced by late medieval melody and harmony, pure tuning, and microtonal shadings.

 

Thus, in their meditative work, they explore a web of relationships between their specific instruments, interplay, and spacea kind of tracing of multiple strands, outlines and connections, maps and paths in which musical materials and psychoacoustic remnants recur.

Eine Produktion der Akademie Schloss Solitude

Judith Hamann

Judith Hamann

Judith Hamann (*1983 in Birraranga/Narrm, Melbourne/Australien), ist Cellist:in und Performer:in/Komponist:in aus Narrm/Melbourne. Xier ist »seit langem als eine der führenden australischen Cellist:innen für zeitgenössische Musik anerkannt« (RealTime Arts) und als Komponist:in, die »die Fiktion der Musiker:in, die außerhalb konventioneller Parameter lebt und arbeitet, zerstört und an ihre Stelle eine Reihe von Kompositionen setzt, die grundlegend menschlich sind« (WIRE). Xiere Arbeit umfasst Performance, Improvisation, elektroakustische Komposition, ortsspezifische generative Arbeit und mikrotonale Systeme in einer prozessbasierten kreativen Praxis.

Gegenwärtig konzentriert sich Judiths Arbeit auf die Untersuchung von Ausdrucksformen und Manifestationen des »Zitterns« in der Solo-Performance-Praxis, auf eine Sammlung neuer Werke für Cello und Summen sowie auf die fortlaufende Erforschung des »Zusammenbruchs« als generative imaginäre Klangfläche. Judith ist derzeit Stipendiat:in an der Akademie Schloss Solitude und promoviert an der University of California, San Diego in zeitgenössischer Cello-Performance, betreut von dem Cellisten Charles Curtis.

James Rushford

James Rushford

James Rushford (*1985 in Melbourne/Australien) ist ein Komponist und Performer, dessen Arbeit sich aus spezifischen concrète-, improvisierten, avantgardistischen und collagistischen Sprachen speist. Er hat Werke für bedeutende internationale Ensembles, Festivals und Organisationen geschaffen und arbeitet regelmäßig mit Künstlern wie Crys Cole, Oren Ambarchi, Klaus Lang, Kassel Jaeger, Annea Lockwood, Graham Lambkin und Tashi Wada zusammen. Seine jüngsten Alben sind bei Unseen Worlds (US), Black Truffle (AU) und Shelter Press (FR) erschienen. Derzeit beschäftigt er sich mit dem ästhetischen Konzept des musikalischen Schattensverschiedene Bilder perspektivischer Obskurität in Klang und Musik.

Midmeste

17
06.02.
13:30
Theaterhaus, T4
Judith Hamann Violoncello James Rushford Portativ

»Midmeste« kommt aus dem Altenglischen und bedeutet »dazwischen« oder »inmitten«. Einen gemeinsamen Aufenthalt an der Akademie Schloss Solitude nutzen die beiden seit vielen Jahren in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen zusammenarbeitenden australischen Musiker:innen für die Entwicklung des Werks, in dem sie sich »in der Mitte« ihrer gemeinsamen Interessen treffen, vor allem hinsichtlich der Erzeugung und Einbettung von »Klang« in umfassendere konzeptionelle Bilder, beeinflusst von spätmittelalterlicher Melodik und Harmonik, reiner Stimmung und mikrotonalen Schattierungen.

 

So erforschen sie in ihrem meditativen Werk ein Netz von Beziehungen zwischen ihren spezifischen Instrumenten, dem Zusammenspiel und dem Raumeine Art Spurensuche nach multiplen Strängen, Umrissen und Verbindungen, Karten und Pfaden, in denen musikalische Materialien und psychoakustische Überbleibsel wiederkehren.

Eine Produktion der Akademie Schloss Solitude