Uli Fussenegger

Uli Fussenegger

smar II

smar II

In order not to unnecessarily affect the perception of the audience, I will limit myself to two sentences describing the piece.

”smar” is a polish word for grease (lubricant)a thick substance similar to oil, used on machine parts for making them work smoothly.

The intended purpose of the piece is to explore capabilities of creating similar flow beetwen  electronics, double bass and guitar parts.
Anna Sowa

Anna Sowa

Anna Sowa (*1987 in Limanowa, PL) is an experimental composer and artist working mainly with electronic music and performing arts fields. She is interested in the intersection of movement, gesture and theatricality in connection with electronic and instrumental music.

She graduated from Bacewicz Academy of Music in Lodz (PL) with a Master’s degree in eurhythmics (2011) and composition (2016), where she studied with Zygmunt Krauze. In 2014/15, as part of the Erasmus+ program, she studied composition and visualization with Dietrich Hahne at the Folkwang University of the Arts in Essen. As a Chinese government scholarship recipient she studied at the Shanghai Conservatory of Music (CN) in 2017/18. In 2021 she graduated with distinction the »Specialized Master Performance / Composition« with Caspar Johannes Walter and Johannes Kreidler.

In 2021, Anna Sowa won the Fringe Competition of the Haydn Foundation. As part of the prize, her opera Silenzio/Silence will be premiered in March 2022 as part of the Festival Oper 2022 in Bolzano.

Among others, she received the Witold Lutosławski Scholarship 2019 (PL), donated by family members of the composer, and the Nicati-de Luze Scholarship 2020 and 2021 (CH).

https://annasowa.eu

La Cité des Saules

La Cité des Saules

The Cité des Saules (City of Willows) is a metaphor for departure. The entire pièce is conceived as a form of reciprocal genesis between inwardness and space. There is no motif, no outline, no figure derived from a background. All that matters is the spatialization process.

The piece comes down to a process of emergence with the only distinctive features being the degrees of depth and opening. Articulations are reduced to the strict minimum: interstices, active voids, coloured segments, luminous events, interplay of transparencies, dark rumblings. The work ends by turning in on itself, by being reabsorbed into its own background.

The piece’s construction is largely based on echo reinjection, very slight ring modulation and hints of chorus effects. Today, all of these methods are obsolete. I would like to thank today’s performers for agreeing to rethink the piece using entirely digital treatment, thus giving it a new life.
Hugues Dufourt

Hugues Dufourt

French composer and philosopher Hugues Dufourt (*1943 in Lyon) studied piano and composition at the Geneva Conservatory, achieved the Agrégé de philosophie in 1967, and then taught philosophy at the University of Lyon. In 1973, he joined the Centre Nationale des Recherches Supérieures (CNRS) as a scientist and joined forces with Gérard Grisey, Tristan Murail, and Michaël Lévinas to form the composers’ group »L’Itinéraire,« from whose sound research spectral music sprang.

In 1977 Dufourt founded the CRISS (Collectif de Recherche Instrumentale et de Synthèse Sonore), from 1982 he directed the information and documentation center »Recherche musicale«, a joint research project of the CNRS, the École Normale Supérieure and the IRCAM, and in the same association from 1989 the Doctorale Formation Musique et Musicologie du XXe siècle.

Hugue Dufourt’s music is based on an abundance of sound constellations and overtones and relies on the dialectic of timbre and time. He draws inspiration in part from the visual arts, essentially maintaining the role of color, medium and light Many of his larger works have been inspired by artists such as Brueghel, Giorgione, Rembrandt, Poussin, Guardi, Goya, Rothko and Pollock.

Hugues Dufourt has received numerous awards, including the Grand Prix de la Musique de chambre (SACEM) in 1975, the Grand Prix de l’Académie Charles Cros in 1980, the Fondation Koussevitzky Prize in 1985, the Jury Prize of the Musique en cinéma Festival in 1987, the Prix des compositeurs de la SACEM in 1994, and the Prix du Président de la République pour l’ensemble de son œuvre, awarded by the Académie Charles Cros, in 2000.

no longer navigating by a star

no longer navigating by a star

My heart lives in my
chest. I know it’s there.
But now the rogue will often
disappear, and leave me
stranded in my scarecrow
mind. It’s so unkind.
What did I do to make her run
away?I ask myself each
day. What did I do,
or what did I do not
or just in part, to make my
heart pack up and run
away?

 

The house inside my chest is
empty nowa vacant lot;
the weeds grow wild in there,
and still heart not come back.
Soon the foundations will be swept
away, and underneath the chest’s vast
empty skies, only the cries that
echo from afar, of some strange
flapping bird, no longer navigating by a
star.
Dorothy Molloy

Clara Iannotta

Clara Iannotta (*1983 in Rom) is an Italian composer and curator based in Berlin.
Her music is commissioned and performed by renowned ensembles, soloists, and orchestras, including Quatuor Diotima, Ensemble Intercontemporain, JACK, Klangforum Wien, Neue Vocalsolisten, Münchener Kammerorchester, Nikel, and WDR Sinfonieorchester.
Iannotta has been a fellow of the Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD in 2013, Villa Médicis (Académie de France à Rome) in 2018–19, and the recipient of several prizes including the Composers’ Prize of the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung and the Hindemith-Preis 2018, Una Vita nella Musica Giovani 2019, Premio Abbiati 2021, Bestenliste der deutschen Schallplattenkritik (German Record Critics’ Award) for her portrait albums A Failed Entertainment, Earthing, and Moult.
Since 2014, Iannotta has been the artistic director of the Bludenzer Tage zeitgemäßer Musik, and from 2022 she is the co-artistic director of the festival Klangspuren Schwaz.  Her music is published by Edition Peters.

Opal Wood

Opal Wood

This is a joint work on a proposal by Uli Fussenegger, developed from sounds he managed to obtain by playing only with the wood of the bow of his double bass. He invited me to listen to these superb, amplified sounds, I found them very surprising, it seemed to me to find there something archaic. As a result, we agreed on the project to create a piece for live double bass and tape made with this pre-recorded material, without any electronic processing.

As time went by, the project constantly continued to grow secretly between the two of us. Then one day Uli started sending me recordingswhich later became a habita tape that appeared to me as some kind of organic flow. I listened to it several times and I started writing the double bass part. I regularly sent page by page to Uli to try to see how the materials responded. From a distance, one by one, we modified recordings and scores to arrive, step by step, at this concert version.

I have the feeling that I wrote something like a graffiti on the sounds Uli created, a kind of wall that makes me think a lot about prehistory, an ancient fresco.

I also have the feeling that we wrote this piece together and from a distance, as we did a long time ago in the correspondence of the 18th century.
Georges Aperghis

Georges Aperghis

Georges Aperghis was born in Athens in 1945. He has lived and worked in Paris since 1963. His work is notably characterized by a questioning about languages and the meaning. His compositions, wether instrumental, vocal or for stage, explore the borders of the intelligible, he likes to create twisted tracks which allow him to keep active the listener (stories emerge but are suddenly refuted).
Aperghis’ music is not strictly linked to any dominant musical aesthetics of the contemporary musical creation but follows on his century by a dialogue with other forms of art and an extreme open-mindedness to the other. This otherness is combined with innovation when he includes electronics, video, machines, automatons or robots to his performances.

Recent awards include the Mauricio Kagel Prize 2011, the Golden Lion of the Venice Biennale for his life’s work 2015, BBVA Foundation Award »Frontiers of Knowledge« 2016 (contemporary music category), Kaske-Munich Foundation 2016, Grand Prix SACD 2018, Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis 2021.

Holding Patterns

Holding Patterns

A holding pattern is a circular loop flown by an aircraft while waiting for clearance to land. Here it is a work entirely made from loops, often aimlesslike tops spinning in place, waiting for a decisive push. An electronic tool, called the »Loopsculptor«, layers the live sound, not creating precise echoes, but reshaping these phrases with constantly shifting dimensions.
Holding Patterns was commissioned by Yaron Deutsch and Uli Fussenegger, with the expressed desire that the piece should allow the performers to branch off into an improvisation. The form of the piece circles back on itself before taking this foray, then returns for a composed coda.
Christopher Trapani

Christopher Trapani

Christopher Trapani (*1980 in New Orleans, Louisiana) is an American/Italian composer. He is currently living between Palermo and Los Angeles, where he teaches at the USC Thornton School of Music.
Christopher is a 2019 Guggenheim Fellow and a former winner of the Rome Prize (2016-17) and the Gaudeamus Prize (2007). He has held fellowships at Akademie Schloss Solitude, Camargo Foundation, and the Bogliasco Foundation.
Waterlines, his debut portrait CD, featuring performances by Talea Ensemble, JACK Quartet, and others, was released on New Focus Recordings in 2018. A second recording of Waterlines by ICTUS was released in 2020.
Projects for the 2021-22 season include commissions from Klangforum Wien and Ensemble Modern, a new work for the Grossman Ensemble at the University of Chicago (Fromm Foundation Commission), and a new song cycle for a consortium of sopranos, commissioned in conjunction with the 2020 Barlow Prize.

Alone Together

18
06.02.
15:00
Theaterhaus, T2
Uli Fussenegger double bass Yaron Deutsch electric guitar Cedric Spindler sound direction

Anna Sowa: smar II

for double bass, electric guitar and electronics (2021) ᵁᴬ

Hugues Dufourt: La Cité des Saules

for electric guitar and electronics (1997)

Clara Iannotta: no longer navigating by a star

for electric guitar with sustainer, double bass and electronics (2021-22) ᵁᴬ

Georges Aperghis: Opal Wood

for double bass and electronics

Christopher Trapani: Holding Patterns

for double bass, electric guitar and electronics (2021) ᵁᴬ

After many joint artistic experiences, it was time for the two protagonists of the evening to initiate a project for electric guitar, amplified double bass and electronics, a combination of instruments that is so promising from a sound and performance point of view, and for which there is hardly any literature worth mentioning. The famous jazz standard »Alone Together« by Arthur Schwartz and Howard Dietz was the inspiration for the title of the eveningalthough it will not be heard explicitly, it will play a role in the compositionally open improvisation sections of Christopher Trapani’s Holding Patterns, a work consisting entirely of loops, often aimless like spinning tops that spin in place waiting for a decisive push.

 

Sendung SWR2 JetztMusik
7. April 2022 / 21:0522:00 Uhr

The works by Georges Aperghis, Clara Iannotta and Christopher Trapani are commissioned by Uli Fussenegger and Yaron Deutsch, financed by the Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

Uli Fussenegger

Uli Fussenegger

smar II

smar II

Um die Wahrnehmung des Publikums nicht unnötig zu beeinträchtigen, werde ich mich auf zwei Sätze zur Beschreibung des Stücks beschränken.

»smar« ist das polnische Wort für Fett (Schmiermittel)eine dicke, ölähnliche Substanz, die auf Maschinenteilen verwendet wird, damit sie reibungslos funktionieren.

Der Zweck des Stücks ist es, die Möglichkeiten zu erforschen, wie man einen ähnlichen Fluss von Elektronik, Kontrabass und Gitarrenparts erzeugen kann.
Anna Sowa

Anna Sowa

Anna Sowa (*1987 in Limanowa, PL) ist eine experimentelle Komponistin und Künstlerin, die sich hauptsächlich mit elektronischer Musik und Bereichen der darstellenden Kunst beschäftigt. Sie interessiert sich für die Überschneidung von Bewegung, Geste und Theatralität in Verbindung mit elektronischer und instrumentaler Musik.

Sie schloss ihr Studium an der Bacewicz Academy of Music in Lodz (PL) mit einem Master in Eurythmie (2011) und Komposition (2016) ab, wo sie bei Zygmunt Krauze studierte. Im Rahmen des Erasmus+ Programms studierte 2014/15 Komposition und Visualisierung bei Dietrich Hahne an der Folkwang Universität der Künste in Essen. Als Stipendiatin der chinesischen Regierung war sie 2017/18 Studentin am Shanghai Conservatory of Music (CN). 2021 schloss sie den »Spezialisierten Master Performance / Komposition« bei Caspar Johannes Walter und Johannes Kreidler mit Auszeichnung ab.

2021 gewann Anna Sowa den Fringe-Wettbewerb der Stiftung Haydn. Als Teil des Preises wird ihre Oper Silenzio/Silence im März 2022 im Rahmen des Festivals Oper 2022 in Bozen uraufgeführt.

Sie erhielt u.a. das Witold-Lutosławski-Stipendium 2019 (PL), gestiftet von Familienmitgliedern des Komponisten, und das Nicati-de Luze-Stipendium 2020 und 2021 (CH).

https://annasowa.eu

La Cité des Saules

La Cité des Saules

Die Cité des Saules (Stadt der Weiden) ist eine Metapher für den Aufbruch. Das gesamte Werk ist als eine Form der wechselseitigen Genese von Innerlichkeit und Raum konzipiert. Es gibt kein Motiv, keinen Umriss, keine Figur, die sich aus einem Hintergrund ableitet. Alles, was zählt, ist der Prozess der Verräumlichung.

Das Stück läuft auf einen Entstehungsprozess hinaus, dessen einziges Unterscheidungsmerkmal der Grad der Tiefe und der Öffnung ist. Die Artikulationen sind auf ein striktes Minimum reduziert: Zwischenräume, aktive Leerstellen, farbige Segmente, leuchtende Ereignisse, Wechselspiel von Transparenzen, dunkles Rumpeln. Das Werk endet, indem es sich in sich selbst dreht, indem es in seinen eigenen Hintergrund zurückversetzt wird.

Die Konstruktion des Stücks basiert weitgehend auf Echo-Reinjektion, sehr leichter Ringmodulation und Andeutungen von Chorus-Effekten. All diese Methoden sind heute obsolet. Ich möchte den heutigen Interpreten dafür danken, dass sie sich bereit erklärt haben, das Stück vollständig digital zu überarbeiten und ihm so neues Leben einzuhauchen.
Hugues Dufourt

Hugues Dufourt

Der französische Komponist und Philosoph Hugues Dufourt (*1943 in Lyon) studierte Klavier und Komposition am Genfer Konservatorium, erwarb 1967 die Agrégé de philosophie und lehrte anschließend Philosophie an der Universität Lyon. 1973 trat er als Wissenschaftler dem Centre Nationale des Recherches Supérieures (CNRS) bei und schloss sich mit Gérard Grisey, Tristan Murail und Michaël Lévinas zur Komponistengruppe »L’Itinéraire« zusammen, aus deren Klangrecherchen die Spektralmusik entsprang.

1977 gründete Dufourt das CRISS (Collectif de Recherche Instrumentale et de Synthèse Sonore), ab 1982 leitete er das Informations- und Dokumentationszentrum »Recherche musicale«, ein gemeinsames Forschungsprojekt des CNRS, der École Normale Supérieure und des IRCAM, und im gleichen Verbund ab 1989 die Doctorale Formation Musique et Musicologie du XXe siècle.

Die Musik von Hugue Dufourt basiert auf einer Fülle von Klangkonstellationen und Obertönen und stützt sich auf die Dialektik von Klangfarbe und Zeit. Er lässt sich zum Teil von der bildenden Kunst inspirieren, wobei er im Wesentlichen die Rolle der Farbe, des Mediums und des Lichts beibehält Viele seiner größeren Werke wurden von Künstlern wie Brueghel, Giorgione, Rembrandt, Poussin, Guardi, Goya, Rothko und Pollock inspiriert.

Hugues Dufourt erhielt zahlreiche Auszeichnungen, darunter 1975 den Grand Prix de la Musique de chambre (SACEM), 1980 den Grand Prix de l’Académie Charles Cros, 1985 den Preis der Fondation Koussevitzky, 1987 den Preis der Jury des Festivals Musique en cinéma, 1994 den Prix des compositeurs de la SACEM und 2000 den Prix du Président de la République pour l’ensemble de son œuvre, verliehen von der Académie Charles Cros.

no longer navigating by a star

no longer navigating by a star

My heart lives in my
chest. I know it’s there.
But now the rogue will often
disappear, and leave me
stranded in my scarecrow
mind. It’s so unkind.
What did I do to make her run
away?I ask myself each
day. What did I do,
or what did I do not
or just in part, to make my
heart pack up and run
away?

 

The house inside my chest is
empty nowa vacant lot;
the weeds grow wild in there,
and still heart not come back.
Soon the foundations will be swept
away, and underneath the chest’s vast
empty skies, only the cries that
echo from afar, of some strange
flapping bird, no longer navigating by a
star.
Dorothy Molloy

Clara Iannotta

Clara Iannotta (*1983 in Rom) ist eine italienische Komponistin und Kuratorin, die in Berlin lebt.

Ihre Musik wird von renommierten Ensembles, Solisten und Orchestern in Auftrag gegeben und aufgeführt, darunter Quatuor Diotima, Ensemble Intercontemporain, JACK, Klangforum Wien, Neue Vocalsolisten, Münchener Kammerorchester, Nikel und WDR Sinfonieorchester.

Iannotta war 2013 Stipendiatin des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD, 2018-19 Stipendiatin der Villa Médicis (Académie de France à Rome) und erhielt mehrere Preise, darunter den Komponistenpreis der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung und den Hindemith-Preis 2018, Una Vita nella Musica Giovani 2019, Premio Abbiati 2021, Bestenliste der deutschen Schallplattenkritik für ihre Porträtalben A Failed Entertainment, Earthing und Moult.

Seit 2014 ist Iannotta künstlerische Leiterin der Bludenzer Tage zeitgemäßer Musik, ab 2022 ist sie Co-Künstlerische Leiterin des Festivals Klangspuren Schwaz. Ihre Musik ist bei Edition Peters erschienen.

Opal Wood

Opal Wood

Es handelt sich um eine gemeinsame Arbeit nach einem Vorschlag von Uli Fussenegger, entwickelt aus Klängen, die er einzig durch das Spielen mit dem Holz seines Kontrabassbogens erzielen konnte.

Er lud mich ein, diese großartigen, verstärkten Klänge zu hören. Ich fand sie sehr überraschend und es schien mir, in ihnen etwas Archaisches wiederzufinden.

Infolgedessen haben wir uns auf das Projekt geeinigt, ein Stück für Live-Kontrabass und Tonband mit diesem voraufgenommenen Material, ohne jegliche elektronische Bearbeitung, zu kreieren.

Die Zeit verstrich und das Projekt wuchs kontinuierlich zwischen uns im Geheimen weiter.

Dann begann Uli mir eines Tages Aufnahmen zu schickenwas er viel später zu einer Gewohnheit machte –, ein Band, das mir wie eine Art organischer Strom erschien.

Ich hörte es mir mehrmals an und begann, den Kontrabass-Part zu schreiben. Ich schickte regelmäßig Seite für Seite an Uli, um zu sehen, wie die Materialien darauf reagierten.

Aus der Ferne modifizierten wir nach und nach die Aufnahmen und Partituren, um Stück für Stück zu dieser Konzertversion zu gelangen.

Ich fühle mich, als hätte ich so etwas wie ein Graffiti geschrieben auf Grundlage der Klänge, die Uli geschaffen hat, eine Art Wand, die mich sehr an die Vorzeit denken lässt, ein antikes Fresko.

Ich habe auch das Gefühl, dass wir dieses Stück gemeinsam und aus der Ferne geschrieben haben, so wie man es vor langer Zeit in der Briefkorrespondenz im 18. Jahrhundert gemacht hat.
Georges Aperghis

Georges Aperghis

Georges Aperghis (*1945 in Athen) lebt und arbeitet seit 1963 in Paris. Sein Werk ist vor allem durch die Hinterfragung von Sprachen und deren Bedeutung gekennzeichnet. Seine Kompositionen, ob instrumental, vokal oder für die Bühne, erforschen die Grenzen des Verständlichen, er schafft gerne verschlungene Pfade, die es ihm erlauben, den Zuhörer in Bewegung zu halten (Geschichten tauchen auf und werden plötzlich widerlegt).

Aperghis‘ Musik ist nicht streng an eine dominante musikalische Ästhetik des zeitgenössischen Musikschaffens gebunden, sondern folgt seinem Jahrhundert durch einen Dialog mit anderen Kunstformen und einer extremen Aufgeschlossenheit gegenüber dem Anderen. Diese Andersartigkeit wird mit Innovation kombiniert, wenn er Elektronik, Video, Maschinen, Automaten oder Roboter in seine Performances einbezieht.

Jüngste Auszeichnungen sind der Mauricio-Kagel-Preis 2011, der Goldene Löwe der Biennale Venedig für sein Lebenswerk 2015, BBVA Foundation Award »Frontiers of Knowledge« 2016 (Kategorie zeitgenössische Musik), Stiftung Kaske-München 2016, Grand Prix SACD 2018, Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis 2021.

Holding Patterns

Holding Patterns

Eine Warteschleife ist eine kreisförmige Schleife, die ein Flugzeug fliegt, während es auf die Landeerlaubnis wartet. Hier handelt es sich um ein Werk, das vollständig aus Schleifen besteht, die oft ziellos sindwie Kreisel, die sich auf der Stelle drehen und auf einen entscheidenden Anstoß warten. Ein elektronisches Werkzeug, der »Loopsculptor«, überlagert den Live-Sound und erzeugt keine präzisen Echos, sondern formt diese Phrasen mit ständig wechselnden Dimensionen neu.

Holding Patterns wurde von Yaron Deutsch und Uli Fussenegger in Auftrag gegeben, mit dem ausdrücklichen Wunsch, dass das Stück den Performern die Möglichkeit geben sollte, in eine Improvisation zu verzweigen. Die Form des Stücks kreist um sich selbst, bevor es diesen Abstecher macht, und kehrt dann für eine komponierte Coda zurück.
Christopher Trapani

Christopher Trapani

Christopher Trapani (*1980 in New Orleans, Louisiana) ist ein amerikanisch-italienischer Komponist. Er lebt derzeit zwischen Palermo und Los Angeles, wo er an der USC Thornton School of Music unterrichtet.

Christopher ist Guggenheim-Stipendiat 2019 und ehemaliger Gewinner des Rom-Preises (2016-17) und des Gaudeamus-Preises (2007). Er war Stipendiat der Akademie Schloss Solitude, der Camargo Foundation und der Bogliasco Foundation.

Waterlines, seine erste Porträt-CD mit Aufführungen des Talea Ensembles, des JACK Quartetts und anderen, wurde 2018 bei New Focus Recordings veröffentlicht. Eine zweite Aufnahme von Waterlines durch ICTUS wurde 2020 veröffentlicht.

Zu den Projekten für die Saison 2021-22 gehören Auftragswerke des Klangforum Wien und des Ensemble Modern, ein neues Werk für das Grossman Ensemble an der University of Chicago (Auftrag der Fromm Foundation) und ein neuer Liederzyklus für ein Konsortium von Sopranistinnen, der in Verbindung mit dem Barlow-Preis 2020 in Auftrag gegeben wurde.

Alone Together

18
06.02.
15:00
Theaterhaus, T2
Uli Fussenegger Kontrabass Yaron Deutsch E-Gitarre Cedric Spindler Klangregie

Anna Sowa: smar II

für Kontrabass, E-Gitarre und Elektronik (2021) ᵁᴬ

Hugues Dufourt: La Cité des Saules

für E-Gitarre und Elektronik (1997)

Clara Iannotta: no longer navigating by a star

für E-Gitarre mit Sustainer, Kontrabass und Elektronik (2021-22) ᵁᴬ

Georges Aperghis: Opal Wood

für Kontrabass und Elektronik

Christopher Trapani: Holding Patterns

für Kontrabass, E-Gitarre und Elektronik (2021) ᵁᴬ

Nach vielen gemeinsamen künstlerischen Erfahrungen war es für die beiden Protagonisten des Abends einfach an der Zeit, ein Projekt für E-Gitarre, verstärkten Kontrabass und Elektronik zu initiieren, diese sowohl in klanglicher als auch performativer Sicht so vielversprechende Instrumentenkombination, für die es bislang kaum nennenswerte Literatur gibt. Der berühmte Jazz Standard »Alone Together« von Arthur Schwartz und Howard Dietz stand Pate für den Titel des Abendser wird zwar nicht explizit erklingen, aber doch eine Rolle spielen in den kompositorisch offenen Improvisationsteilen von Christopher Trapanis Holding Patterns, einem Werk, das vollständig aus Schleifen besteht, oft ziellos wie Kreisel, die sich an Ort und Stelle drehen und auf einen entscheidenden Anstoß warten.

 

Sendung SWR2 JetztMusik
7. April 2022 / 21:0522:00 Uhr

Die Werke von Georges Aperghis, Clara Iannotta und Christopher Trapani sind Kompositionsaufträge von Uli Fussenegger und Yaron Deutsch, finanziert von der Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung